Prose

2.9538 Ratings

Prose makes customized haircare with sustainable and healthy materials.

What is Thingtesting?

Our mission is to build a trustworthy corner of the internet where people can come together and talk honestly about new online brands. Learn more.

3
Average rating from 38 users
24%
Would recommend it to a friend

Prose Reviews

Experience

Quick shipping and fun unboxing experience and packaging. A brand I wanted to support and love, but the formula fell short. It didn't feel as premium as it looked, particularly when it came to the conditioner and scent. The conditioner was runny and didn't leave my hair coated and moisturized post wash- off. The scent was mehh, it needed a stronger profile IMO. After all hair care is a a sensorial experience. On the plus side, returning and getting my money back was smooth and straightforward.

Feedback

Work on the conditioner formula and scent profiles!

Lovely customer supportInnovative productCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Love the brand's mission 💕
18 days ago
Experience

I love the idea of customized haircare but this didn’t work for me personally. I tried adjusting it a few times, and it just felt ok. Packaging and customer service are great though.

20 days ago
Experience

I was a little skeptical that this would be worth the price, but the products last a lot longer than normal shampoo and conditioner that I use. I also don't need to use many of the other products that I used to use on my hair - oils, leave in conditioners, masks. It is easier to take care of my hair now. Great products, great customer service, and I love the scents too!

Feedback

I wish that they offered a larger size or refillable bottles or something to help reduce waste.

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Eco-friendly packagingLuxury
25 days ago
Experience

For a brand that promises your perfect hair through customization, my hair was alright. There are brands where I don't have access to customize at all (like the brand just sold shampoo and conditioner--no variation for dry scalp or anything) and they provide me with better hair for a cheaper price.

Feedback

Honestly, I think the biggest turn off it just how long it takes for it to get to you. For example, you could wait a month for you to get your products only to realize that you don't like it. And then when you ask to re-customize it, you wait another month. Brands like Function--which do a similar thing like Prose--can now be sold at Target, I don't know why it takes this brand so long to make their formula. Hence, I think some more transparency about how the product is made would be helpful .

Cool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Difficult returns
a month ago
Experience

I love this brand. My hair needs to be washed less and feels shiny and healthy. It is pricey but I also found that the product lasts me a while! I love the subscription and the option to change formulas and scents based on how my experience is going thus far.

High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Eco-friendly packagingLove the brand's mission 💕
a month ago
Experience

This didn’t work for me, personally, although I like the concept of customized shampoo and conditioner.

Feedback

Maybe just more accurate customization? Also non- plastic packaging should be used.

2 months ago
Experience

My hair is pretty hardy, and by that, I mean I used to soak it in chlorine for 20+ hours a week for over a decade, and stylists still loved my hair. I love the scents and the dry shampoo is a little messy but a game changer for me. The leave in conditioner I don’t necessarily feel is amazing.

Feedback

More specific instructions. How often should I be using this stuff?

Cool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Amazing websiteEco-friendly packaging
2 months ago
Experience

Entire UX and experience was top notch. I wanted to love the product, but it left my hair feeling a bit greasy.

Cool look & feelLuxury
2 months ago
Experience

I love the concept and the packaging. Who doesn't want customized shampoo and conditioner? The quiz you take to determine your hair potion is fun, simple, and quick. I gave Prose a 3/5 because I love the brand but I didn't love the product. I'm not sure if it's my hair or the water in Michigan but ever since using the product my hair has become super matted. I've since switched shampoo and conditioner to another brand but it still hasn't solved the problem. If you're willing to pay around $30 for your hair and want to try something new I say give prose a shot! However, be prepared for the weeks it will take your hair to adjust. Side note: I was disappointed in their dry shampoo. The bottle dispenser made application messy and it's too bulky for travel size.

Feedback

- make travel size dry shampoo - I'd like to talk to other people with similar hair and hear about their recommendations

Innovative productCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Eco-friendly packagingLove the brand's mission 💕
Maura M's review of Prose
2 months ago
Experience

When I first heard of the brand I was so excited, I thought it was an incredibly and inclusive concept but I was ultimately unimpressed by the products and formulations. While better than the usual drug store line-up, I didn't feel that Prose was as "personalized" as they claimed. After a few weeks of use, my normally curly hair was less frizzy but much more flat. When using Prose, I found my texture to change completely and the pre-mask left my roots slicked and oily. I will say that with my friends who have naturally straight hair, they couldn't stop raving about Prose - so it could have been a texture issue.

Feedback

The customer experience was wonderful, but I do think that the formulations (particularly for mixed texture or curly hair) could use some refinement.

Lovely customer supportAmazing website
2 months ago