Prose

2.8681 Reviews

Prose makes customized haircare with sustainable and healthy materials.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

2.9
Average rating from 81 users
26%
Would recommend it to a friend

Prose Reviews

a month ago
Experience

The subscription portion is a little difficult to understand. However, the products themselves smell wonderful. I appreciate that they're tailored to the customer's hair type.

Feedback

I thought the packaging would be glass but it's just plastic.

Fun unboxing 📦
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

The scent is amazing.

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

Makes my hair look nice, but not necessarily better than lower-cost options. I thought the survey was fun to take, but for fun I tried using a friend's subscription who has a different hair texture and style goal, and it worked very similarly.

Feedback

Make it easier to manage subscriptions.

Lovely customer supportCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Amazing websiteLuxury
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

I felt this product was a little gimmick-y. The quiz is fun to take, but I'm not sure its really all that tailored to my needs. I didn't notice a huge difference when I started using it (I tested it for about a year to make sure I was giving the product a fair shot), and have since switched to different products. The scent of the product is very nice.

Feedback

I was disappointed they used plastic bottles, as the price is high enough to warrant glass or aluminum - which is much easier to recycle and less wasteful.

Amazing website
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

I have been using Prose for over 2 years now and absolutely love it. I have the shampoo, conditioner, leave-in conditioner, hair oil, and dry shampoo. I love that you fill out a detailed questionnaire about your hair condition and goals, which even takes your zip code into consideration for environmental factors. You can add color protection and opt in for leaving out new pumps for your next order to reduce waste. With the subscription you get a discount and you can delay or cancel whenever. It took me over a year to get through the hair oil because it is super thick, you don't need that much. I love the leave-in conditioner, but hate the dry shampoo.

Feedback

I feel like I need to use a TON of the dry shampoo to see any difference. Also, the dry shampoo bottle sucks. Half the time nothing comes out.

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Eco-friendly packaging
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

Way to expensive, the custom hair routine made my scalp so dry and destroyed my hair!

Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

This shampoo is the best I've ever used. It let me go from washing my hair every day to every other day.

Feedback

I don't like how I am not notified well before a new product ships with the subscription. I wish it would tell me 3-5 days prior so I could evaluate whether or not I need the product that month/check the address. Usually it just tells you it is shipped.

High qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

I tried this before switching to Olaplex and I liked the products enough but the price vs how frequently you had to restock yourself just didn't feel quite worth it. It definitely seemed like it was "Custom" insofar as they have a product range that already exists and they assign you one based on your answers to their questions. Its not a bad thing, per se, but I don't think it felt properly "custom" to me. I mostly felt like I was paying a premium for a label with my name on it.

Feedback

Perhaps an introductory sample product someone could purchase at a lower price would help consumers to decide if this is right for them or not.

Cool look & feelEco-friendly packagingLuxury
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

I've used this for a couple of years, and noticed a big difference in how shiny, smooth & voluminous my hair became. Love that you can customize your own formulation, depending on your specific hair conditions, lifestyle, & even local climate/weather/pollution.

Feedback

Now that I've been a repeat customer, I wish they didn't send me such elaborate packaging each time. Too much paper/cardboard waste. Also, wish it came in different bottle sizes (bulk & mini). Also, the price point really is very high. I am considering switching to a more affordable brand.

High qualityCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

Not a great shampoo/conditioner for curly hair. For context I'm 3c/4a hair and I wouldn't recommend this. It's pretty drying too.

Feedback

Better hydration for those with tighter curl patterns.

Eco-friendly packaging
Useful review?