MERIT

4.5319 Ratings

MERIT makes well-edited beauty essentials that are meant to be safe for body, skin, and planet.

What is Thingtesting?

Our mission is to build a trustworthy corner of the internet where people can come together and talk honestly about new online brands. Learn more.

4.5
Average rating from 19 users
94%
Would recommend it to a friend

MERIT Reviews

Experience

One of favorite new-to-the market beauty brands! I love their simple approach to a makeup routine. The products are high quality, user friendly, and just beautiful to wear! the foundation stick is a standout product for me - such a natural look & feel!

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelSize & shade inclusive Luxury
Jessica D's review of MERIT
24 days ago
Experience

If MERIT has a million fans, I'm one of them. If MERIT has one fan, then it's me. If MERIT has no fans, it means I'm dead. Their tinted lip oil gives me life and their flush balm cream blush is on my daily rotation. So lightweight, easy, and the perfect color pay off.

Feedback

nothing!

Good for gifts 🎁Worth the money 💸
24 days ago
Experience

absolutely love their lip oils. lasts a long time and its not sticky.

High qualityCool look & feel
2 months ago
Experience

I've used Clean Lash, Brown 1980, Brush No. 1, The Minimalist, and The Shade Stick. They've replaced all of my Glossier products, as they just feel like a step up for comparable prices. Packaging and branding is minimal too.

Feedback

The Minimalist (concealer/foundation replacement) is a bit touch to blend with the brush unless you've applied moisturizer underneath.

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸Travel friendly ✈️
3 months ago
Experience

Obsessed with Merit's Minimalist foundation stick. It is just so good and I've never had anything work this well for me. And, the blush is so beautiful!! I'd highly recommend.

Feedback

Nothing, so good!

High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸
3 months ago
Good for gifts 🎁High qualityWorth the money 💸Size & shade inclusive Travel friendly ✈️Luxury
3 months ago
Experience

I bought the minimalist stick and nude lip oil. Overall, I liked the brand - though I think this is a brand that is only suitable for those who don’t wear a full face as both items are very sheer and not very buildable. The foundation stick was lovely though the coverage wasn’t the great and if you tried to add more product it became apparent- especially in photos. The price point is also pretty high for the amount of product given. I will say the minimalist stick packaging needs work. My stick came broken and may people have also had this problem. I really love my lip oil. It is beautiful and hydrating - I would highly recommend as this is a great way to add color while hydrating. Plus the packing for the lip oil feel luxurious!

Feedback

I would love to see more nudes, light pinks and brown colors in the lip oils. There are so many reds and berry colors but that’s not ideal for every occasion. The foundation stick needs better packaging, possibly more product for the price point and better shade match.

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Travel friendly ✈️Amazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Grace T's review of MERIT
3 months ago
Experience

It's the brand for all the minimalist make-up lovers. I love this packaging, the feel, and just the overall quality of this brand. I was worried that for all the aesthetics, the quality will suffer, but I couldn't be more wrong: I would say this is one of the rare brands where the price matches the quality you get. In fact, I am surprised it isn't priced higher (knock on wood that they don't get any ideas).

Feedback

I would include a bit more shades for their concealer/foundation stick. As a South Asian women, it was difficult to find a shade that matched my undertone. With a bit of blending, I managed to make it work, and I really liked the consistency and application to give up on it.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelFun unboxing 📦Love the brand's mission 💕Luxury
4 months ago
Experience

I haven't used the blush or concealers - which seem to be well rated - but I didn't love the brow pomade or mascara. I am pretty lucky with a healthy set of lashes and pretty thick brows so maybe these products are quite right for me. The mascara did darken my lashes but didn't do much to thicken or lengthen them. The pomade doesn't seem very strong and didn't give me a good hold for even a few hours, let alone all-day wear. The tint is probably nice if you have lighter or more sparse eyebrows but again, not really something I need. Packaging is beautiful and the brown bag sent with the first order is super cute! Would be open to trying their other products, just didn't love the two I bought. They did have a super friendly customer support team and made it really easy to return :)

Lovely customer support
4 months ago
Experience

I originally bought the lip oil from Merit because I really just wanted their black velvet holiday bag but I ended up loving both! I really like Glossier's Generation G as a matte lipstick but it always dries my lips out — not Merit's lip oil! I got it in the Cara Cara color and it's very subtle but feels really nice. The packaging is great and the little holiday bag is so so cute.

Cool look & feel
Cristina A's review of MERIT
4 months ago