Reviews

    Everist

    Level 5
    I LLevel 5 33 Reviews

    4 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    When the brand first launched, I bought the 3 pack of shampoo, body wash, and conditioner. At the time, I wasn't very impressed - it was cool in concept (waterless concentrated body care), but the execution wasn't the greatest beyond the aluminum tube and recyclable cap. When it had first launched, not many other beauty companies were focused on packaging sustainability, and Everist focused a lot of their marketing efforts on educating about the infinite recyclability of aluminum (and not so much on their formulas - something that they've even talked about during their recent marketing email!). The actual product itself was lacking, though, even though the ingredients were impressive. And the conditioner was especially a horrible experience, making my hair extremely dry. I love the brand's commitment to listening to their customers' concerns - they revamped their formulations and have also released tin packages. I was able to try the revamped Deep Conditioning Concentrate through a Thingdrop and I'm so so impressed at the difference between its first iteration and now. It works better than my fully liquid/bottle pump conditioners, and has a very pleasant texture and smell (especially compared to the first version). I've also seen that they've revamped the Shampoo concentrate as well with even better ingredients, and I'm super excited to try that in the near future! As someone who breaks out with most other shampoos, I can only really use something like SEEN haircare. But the original shampoo and both the conditioners have not broken me out, so again, very excited to try the new shampoo. I'm under the impression that the body wash formula hasn't changed, and I remember really enjoying that one. It foams up really well so it's just as great or even better than most liquid body washes. I've only tried these in tube forms, so I can't say much about the tin packaging, but I'd imagine that they are better for travel. The tiny cap sometimes bothers me in the shower and it can take a few tries to screw on just right. Otherwise, love love love this brand and its commitment towards sustainability, great formulas, and listening to their customers!

    leaflet

    Level 5
    I LLevel 5 33 Reviews

    5 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    I purchased this through a Thingdrop, and it hasn't been helpful at all with my plants. The customer service has been great though, which is why my review isn't just one star. From the website, I expected the membership to include them shipping or at least recommending supplies such as pesticides/fungicides, soil, and fertilizer. These are not provided or suggested. The readings in the app offer very little detail - even less than an analog humidity level. I understand that they give you analyses, but you should also assume that the average user who would be interested in your product would either understand or at least want more detail out of the supposed readings. For those who do not understand, it is a nice feature to include so that it proves to the user that it actually is reading things beyond water. (So far the only instructions that I've received from the app is when to water or to upload posts on my plants. I have uploaded posts where I complain about issues with bugs or possible fungal infections.) I really would not recommend this product as it is now. Great idea and thoughtful eco-friendly packaging, but is pretty useless and for such a steep price as well. I even regret purchasing this at the Thingdrop price.

    Heyday Canning Company

    Level 5
    I LLevel 5 33 Reviews

    7 months ago

    Received a free product from Heyday Canning Company

    I made the Coconut Curry Chickpeas for a small dinner party, and they were absolutely amazing. Full disclosure I did get this through the "Try things" discount! The chickpeas were great over rice. Love that you don't need a can-opener either, which makes this super accessible and the ideal donation for canned food drives! I totally understand that this is basically a rebranding for canned food similar to how Trader Joe's has rebranded TV dinners. But the chickpeas were honestly so good, and I will DEFINITELY be trying the other flavors. Love that they give vegans more options for delicious, filling, ready-made meals.

    Taika

    Level 5
    I LLevel 5 33 Reviews

    7 months ago

    Received a free product from Taika

    I used the Thingtesting discount to get a can and ended up buying another can at full price. I tried the Matcha Latte and the Mocha Latte. For both flavors, here is a big fake sugar aftertaste that I assume is from the monk fruit. They do advertise as "Zero Sugar" on the can, so just to let you know that the sweetness comes from monk fruit. The Mocha Latte was weirdly chunky but they're just chunks of the chocolate. (It was not expired and I did shake well.) I appreciate that they use ceremonial-grade matcha for the Matcha Latte, but the matcha taste is really masked. It's also more bitter than is normal. The macadamia milk is pretty good though! Really makes the drinks creamy and love that it's lactose-free. I'm not sure about all the adaptogens/their efficacy and I feel like they definitely drive up the price. Taste-wise they're both ok and a nice pick-me-up. The can is very attractive, but I hate the plastic sleeve. I know that's pretty standard, but wish there was more thought put into the sustainability aspect of new products.

    OOKIOH

    Level 5
    I LLevel 5 33 Reviews

    8 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    I bought a beach towel from a Thingdrop. It's an incredibly thoughtfully designed beach towel - large towel loop for hanging, bluesign antibacterial technology, and larger sized than your average beach towel. I wouldn't say that it's very soft, but it feels very high quality, densely loomed, and sturdy. I haven't had any pilling or pulling from the towel loops yet. The dense knit also makes it difficult for sand to get through the towel and makes it easy to pack down to a small size. It is also incredibly absorbent. The packaging/box that it shipped in was so beautiful and included a lovely note. I've only tested the beach towel, but based on the quality and thoughtful details of the beach towel alone, I'm sure that the same design ethos is applied to their featured products. Great brand idea, considering it's difficult to make quality swimsuits or even activewear with more biodegradable materials. In general, I prefer to go for biodegradable/natural materials for clothes but I understand that this is one sector that is difficult to compromise in. Also, looking at the size ranges of their swimwear, it goes all the way to 4X, which is great (but obviously should be standard) for a more luxe brand. I would 100% recommend this to anyone looking to buy a beach towel and will definitely look to this brand when shopping for swimwear.

    NOON

    Level 5
    I LLevel 5 33 Reviews

    8 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    I was able to try the Noon Chocolate Delights from a Thingdrop. I'm pretty skeptical of supplements like these, but each time that I've had a chocolate, I really do notice a difference in my productivity and focus. Even if they don't really work, it's pretty great chocolate. I appreciate that the box of chocolates is so well-designed to feel secure and luxe without adding unnecessary, extra paper or involving plastic packaging. I also attended their in-person Chocolate Delights release party at Rhythm Zero and I had the chance to briefly chat with one of the co-founders, who was very kind and personable. I can't speak for the other tincture products which seem to be the real focus of their brand offerings, and generally, CBD products do not work on me. But based on the chocolates and my experience of the brand so far, I give the five stars! Feedback-wise, I'd love to see more info on their website for where the ingredients are sourced from.

    Sauz

    Level 5
    I LLevel 5 33 Reviews

    9 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    I purchased the original combo pack through a Thingdrop. Both the sauces are pretty tasty and very different. I personally liked the hot honey arrabbiata more than the summer lemon, but both were enjoyable and very flavorful. They taste very fresh - especially the summer lemon marinara. If you're a lemon fan or a sour-profile fan, you'll love this sauce. The hot honey arrabbiata was the right amount of spicy and was lovely with the honey. I really liked that the sauces had small chunks of the ingredients, which were fun surprises. A big drawback is that it's very pricey - the current options are 2-pack ($29.99 so $15/jar) or 4-pack ($49.99 so $12.50/jar) and currently, shipping is only free for orders > $70, so it's only really worth it if you buy two 4-packs, which means that you really have to know that you already like it. It's a pretty big roadblock for first-time buyers, so my advice to the business would be to offer a cheaper price for the original combo pack, or at least free shipping. While they are generally good sauces, I still prefer others that are also great quality while being less expensive, such as Michael's of Brooklyn. For Sauz, it feels like you are mostly paying for snazzy branding that isn't fully fleshed out - it seems like the founders saw the success of Graza and are trying to emulate that. I understand it's a new brand, but it also feels that way. The website has gotten some more details and pages since I've tried the Thingdrop, but still has some issues. Overall, I do know that this company will only get better over time, and it really is a great effort from two young entrepreneurs.

    Kanira

    Level 5
    I LLevel 5 33 Reviews

    9 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    I'm giving 3 stars and not lower because I'm not sure if this is an acquired taste or is more similar to other cultural foods that I'm not actively aware of. Personally, I didn't enjoy them - while the three flavors and spices are great, the rough, grainy texture and dryness of the biscuits made them difficult to fully appreciate the flavors. I thought to also give them another shot and try them with coffee & tea, just in case that is how they are meant to be eaten, but even then they stayed just as dry. Great flavors though, and great nutrition. While I would recommend them to a friend, I would definitely add a caveat of my experiences with the product.

    Floof

    Level 5
    I LLevel 5 33 Reviews

    10 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    The first interaction I had with the Floof team was a thoughtful, proactive email on possible shipping issues. They sent it before I had even received the package, so I really appreciate the forethought! (All I had were some teeny tiny ones and I honestly don't mind them at all) The packaging itself is awesome - aluminum bottles and you can order pumpless refills (as pumps are not recyclable). It's also so pretty hanging out in the tub. While others have brought up the limited lather, I personally don't mind - I've also heard that lather is not a real indicator of cleansing power. It's nice that there's a two-step process, which makes sense as our own hair benefits most from the same two-step process as well. It's also amazing that it's formulated by a veterinary dermatologist - I've been growing more and more concerned with the pet products that I use for my dog, and I don't have to worry as much with Floof. The shampoo and conditioner have a very mild smell - some people may not like this, but I really really do. With other shampoos, my dog smells very different and sometimes overly perfumed. With Floof, my dog smells neutral and just like a cleaner version. (: My dog's coat has also been staying clean for longer and is so so shiny. I simply can't recommend Floof enough!! Even without the Thingdrop discount, I would say it's also worth the price. I'd love to see bigger sizes, as people with larger dogs have to use a lot. (:

    Bask Suncare

    Level 5
    I LLevel 5 33 Reviews

    10 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    I got the Thingdrop discounted pack of the spray and lotion in SPF 50. Even at full price, this pretty sunscreen doesn't break the bank. It is effective, spreads well, and has a great mission - reef-friendly, non-aerosol sunscreen with no white cast. It also has a shelf life of THREE YEARS, which is longer than most sunscreens and we all know how we never use up the full bottle by the time summer is over. I also appreciate the donating to nonprofits aspect of Bask. The sunscreen packaging also looks great with its attractive, clean graphics and colors. The sunscreen itself has a pretty intense smell - it's a classic sunscreen smell, so if you like that then you'll like this. I am pretty sensitive to scents both skin-wise and nose-wise, so I usually opt for unscented formulas. This hasn't made me break out, but I do find myself reaching more for my Summer Camp sunscreen because of the strong smell. The lotion formulation is very easily spreadable, and the spray goes pretty far. I do have to say that it is a bit sticky and greasy/oily (another reason why I tend to reach more for Summer Camp). It's definitely still not as sticky and greasy as sunscreens from years prior. I would definitely still recommend this and I would purchase it again when I need a new sunscreen! UPDATE August 2023: I'm reaching the bottom of my Summer Camp sunscreen, and it's giving a horrendous white cast. Maybe I didn't shake the bottle enough per use, but I'm now reaching for my Bask sunscreen consistently. I wish I could give it 4.5 stars, the minus .5 stars is still for the scent. It's definitely the best sunscreen I've tried from the USA, given the U.S. FDA's limitations on sunscreens!