Habit Skin

3.119 Reviews

Habit Skin makes effective and safe anti-aging sunscreen products.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

3.1
Average rating from 9 users
44%
Would recommend it to a friend

Habit Skin Reviews

a year ago
Experience

I bought this because I was excited that it was in a light, mist spray form! However... I was constantly afraid that I wasn't getting enough coverage + when I sprayed it felt super oily and slippery, that I had to pat it down and rub it in afterward in order for it not to leave a sheen. Instead of my face, I started using it on my body (the back of my neck + arms) because I felt my face needed an additional, spreadable protection layer.

Feedback

The formula is a bit too oily and strong scented for my personal taste and the applicator slightly leaked from time to time.

Useful review?
a year ago
Experience

I got this just in time to take it on a trip to rural, coastal Georgia. Like to use face-specific sunscreen on my face because some others have a tendency to run into my eyes and basically ruin my entire day with stinging until I can give my peepers a good flush. Prior to this I had a bottle of Soleil Toujours setting spray with SPF and I think this worked better in terms of sun protection (the ST also has something astringent in it that would sometimes sting). This has an odor that, to me, smelled somewhat herbal. I like it, but it may not to be everyone's taste. It also has a definite oiliness on the face. Some may say it's dewy, but for others maybe too much. I have naturally oily skin and it was right on the line for me. On the beach I didn't care and I wasn't wearing makeup. I've used it prior to putting on makeup in the morning and think it makes everything slide into place nicely, but I wouldn't reapply over makeup for that reason. Overall I liked it and will buy it again, but I'll need to see how it fits into my non-vacation life.

Feedback

The spray seems anemic sometimes. Hard to tell how much is coming out and how much you're using.

Innovative productCool look & feelTravel friendly ✈️
Useful review?
a year ago
Experience

I got this because it seemed like a great way to put on sunscreen over makeup and reapply throughout the day. It is very easy to use and reapply but it is sticky, and stings my eyes every time. I hate touching my face afterward and have to blot my eyes to deal with the tears from the stinging.

Feedback

A version that is less sticky to the touch and/or doesn't sting would have me using this again.

Travel friendly ✈️
Useful review?
25 days ago
Experience

This is a convenient sunscreen that doesn't feel like sunscreen and is easy to use. Discovered this sunscreen at Sephora and it's been my go-to.

Feedback

I wish they offered a matte finish.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityWorth the money 💸Sustainable productsLuxury
jenny l's review of Habit Skin
Useful review?
25 days ago
Experience

this is the best sunscreen spray i have tried. the spray is very fine unlike other sprays. i really like that it is a mist and my favorite is white peach and the cream.

Feedback

i wish i could buy it here

Lovely customer supportCool look & feel
alexandra h's review of Habit Skin
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

really love the pretty packaging and super easy to apply without a lot of effort

Feedback

pricey i wish it were cheaper

Innovative productLove the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

i was super excited about this mist sunscreen but it’s super oily and got all in my eyes after being outside with it on. not worth the buy, 2/10

Useful review?
4 months ago
Experience

Warning, this SEVERELY irritated the skin around my eyes, swollen and burning. Habit's customer service dismissed my concerns, refused a return, and didn't even bother to offer a coupon, even though it was within the specified 30 day window; and then they delayed further dismissive/repetitive communication until 30 days had indeed lapsed. It's so messed up to formulate a product for the face that has the potential for severe eye area irritation. They also immediately deleted my feedback that I posted on their Instagram. Avoid this brand, their customer service is as bad as their product and they actively suppress honest negative feedback.

Feedback

Product formulation is terrible - very oily and caused severe burning pain in my eye area for hours. Customer service is horrible - dismissive and offered nothing to compensate me for what happened, not even the slightest gesture, and told me repeatedly that 30 calendar days from receipt of the product had elapsed before it had.

Difficult returns
Erica G's review of Habit Skin
Useful review?
9 months ago
Experience

I really wanted to like their facial sunscreen spray. The idea of a sunscreen that I could easily reapply and put on over my makeup is a dream. I also saw a lot of good reviews of this product (on their website so duh they'll only post good reviews), and was super excited to use it. I was so disappointed when I used it for the first week. It was incredibly oily and left my face feeling super slick (and also shiny). When I bought the sunscreen, I thought it would have more of a hydrating effect, or at least absorb into my skin. But it just sat on top and gave me an oily look. It also stung my eyes (I obviously closed my eyes when I sprayed and kept them shut for an additional 10 seconds after my last spray as directed on the bottle) and made them water like crazy for the rest of the day after I had it on. I noticed the spray got everywhere on my desk and anything within a 1 foot radius because the mist is so light and travels easily. If I left my glasses or my phone in near me when I sprayed they would have a film of the oily sunscreen on them. It is also more scented than I prefer (not much of a con, but if you are sensitive to smell this is definitely not the product for you). I'm not one to waste money or product so I tried to finish the spray even though I really didn't like it, but after using half the bottle I could not stand it anymore and just threw it out. I didn't even bother saving it to use on my arms and body because I could not stand how oily it is. Additionally, after thinking about it, I really can't trust a spray to give me substantial protection from the sun. There are a lot of other SPFs that build well and lay on top of makeup well, and this product just isn't it.

Feedback

If they can change the formula to be more mattifying and sting your eyes less, then this would be a much better product. I'm not one to leave negative reviews because it's not usually worth the time, but I genuinely disliked this product so much and did not see enough reviews that detailed how oily it is or how easily it can sting your eyes.

Useful review?