Baloo

4.1 9 Reviews

Baloo makes functional sparkling water that aims to increase your serotonin and dopamine levels.

Baloo Reviews

Baloo reviews

4.11

100% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

9 reviews

a year ago

Received a free product from Baloo

So far I’ve tried the Blood Orange and Basil flavor. I appreciate that it’s not trying to be an earthy flavor like many other functional beverages. It genuinely just tastes really good. After having this flavor three times, I’m still not sure if I experienced mood boosting benefits, but I imagine that would be a challenge to measure.

Feedback

I do think they could add more of the basil flavor— I’m an herbs girl and I want even more basil, right now it’s only a hint. I’d also like to see the grapefruit and blood orange flavor packaging more differentiated- the orange and pink fonts look pretty similar on their respective cans and can be an easy mix up. I’m also interested to understand further about the “dosing.” Given that the product includes vitamins, adaptogens and nootropics is it safe to consume more than one can per day?

a year ago

Received a free product from Baloo

I really enjoyed the taste and brightness of the grapefruit mint flavor. I tried it at the Future of Commerce event for free and actually brought one home for my husband. We both had the same reflection that while it's really refreshing at first, it's hard to drink a whole can. I also wonder if it's okay to drink more than one given the mood boosting ingredients. I tried the blood orange basil and wasn't as impressed with the flavor.

Feedback

I think a little more info on what makes it mood boosting and the safety of the ingredients would be useful. I'd also dial up the basil in the blood orange flavor to make it as refreshing as the grapefruit mint. I'd buy these if I saw them sold as single units at the bodega, but I don't think I'd buy a case. Maybe a smaller can would make me want to buy in bulk.

a year ago

Received a free product from Baloo

I tried Baloo at the Archetypes + Thingtesting popup in NYC. I thought the flavors were well balanced and not too intense. My favorite was the Blood Orange & Basil, but Lemon & Ginger and Grapefruit & Mint were both tasty. When I hear "sparkling water", I think of LaCroix/Waterloo etc., where there's no sweetener and just a hint of flavor. I think the flavors of Baloo are more comparable to Liquid Death's flavored options, like there might be some juice in there too. I'm actually impressed by how much flavor Baloo delivers with 0 calories. The big thing for Baloo seems to be the nootropics and adaptogens, which they claim are mood-boosters. I was in a good mood each time I tried Baloo and my mood didn't get any worse after. A more apt test might be to get loaded on Baloo before a trip to the DMV or Walmart and see how it fares.

Feedback

The can designs are a bit hard to differentiate between so it's sort of annoying to hunt for your flavor of choice when the full lineup is in front of you. One 12-pack of Baloo costs about $40 after shipping. If they boost my mood so much, will my insurance help pay for it?

a year ago

Blood orange & Basil was solid with good taste and sparkle. I can’t say anything about boosting my mood, since I was already in a good mood when I tried this. I’ll have to update the review after I try one again, being sure I’m in a bad mood to see if it gets elevated.

6 months ago

I found Baloo at a bodega in Williamsburg and was interested by their mood boosting marketing. I LOVED the mint and watermelon and genuinely felt more relaxed and with a bit more of a spring in my step afterwards!

a year ago

i've never been a big sparkling water girl but anything for happiness, amitrite? i wasss big on kin eurphorics bc of the moodboosting benefits with adaptogens and nootropics but if i'm being honest, it doesn't taste the best. i notice a difference in mood after drinking baloo. blood orange + basil and lemon + ginger are my faves!

Feedback

more flavors!!!

a year ago

Blood orange flavor is present but basil is lacking. A but bold with the mood boosting claims, but all brands are too bold with those kinds of claims. It’s like a seltzer mixed with a tea. Good but nothing special

a year ago

Tester

The blood orange gave a very pleasant tang. Not too strong, delectable.