Storyworth

4.4 68 Reviews

Storyworth offers personalized storybooks as a way to preserve memories and experiences.

Storyworth Reviews

Storyworth reviews

4.4

87% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

  • Unique story-sharing concept
  • Inspiring weekly prompts
  • High-quality printed books
  • Ability to add photos
  • Limited layout flexibility
  • Privacy and control issues
  • Overwhelming or repetitive prompts
  • Unclear cost structure

Storyworth is highly regarded for its unique concept of helping users document and share personal stories. Its strengths include inspiring weekly prompts, high-quality printed books, and the ability to add photos. However, it has been critiqued for lack of flexibility in layout and editing options, privacy concerns, and occasionally overwhelming or repetitive prompts. Additional weaknesses include issues with customer service and refund policies, as well as a sometimes unclear cost structure.

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

68 reviews

a month ago

Edit: Since originally posting, Storyworth did provide a refund for the unused book credits from our account, and clarified that the book credits can be applied at the time of order to any book purchased. ————- I wish I could give Storyworth a 5-star review but unfortunately when it is all said and done our family found that it falls short in a number of areas. Everything is explained on their website, so they aren’t mis-leading anything, but there are a few things that should be highlighted if you are considering purchasing this. First off, as they advertise, your subscription is only for one year - please consider this may not be an appropriate time length for an elderly family member to complete all the questions, given vacations, time spent doing other things, or a stay in the hospital. We didn’t consider this, and ended up having to pay for a subscription renewal so my Dad could finish his stories, so essentially paid twice! Secondly, the ‘book credit’ that accompanies your subscription is only valid for a book that fits within their specific parameters (limited to certain number of pages and black and white) - again it says this on their website. However, if you have any interest in a coloured copy, or writing a longer book (which you won’t know until the questions are done), you will have to pay full price for each book, they will not offer you any ‘credit’ towards your book purchase. So we ended up paying full price for 4 coloured copies and still have two book credits sitting on their system that are useless to us. In the end, with the original subscription plus having to pay for a renewal, ordering coloured books, and paying for shipping we have paid $614usd to Storyworth, which is very high compared to some of the other competing products out there. The quality of the book is good, the concept of the product is good, and we are grateful that we have these memories to cherish as time goes on, so there definitely are positives - but the lack of flexibility in the time available for writing and the costs that seem to continue accumulating are things that definitely need to be considered before purchasing this from Storyworth, particularly if you are thinking of giving this to someone as a gift.

4 months ago

I really don't know how Storyworth could get anything less than a 5-star review! From a gift-giving standpoint, it is one of the most thoughtful opportunities to give/receive, especially with aging family members. The website interface is lovely, inviting and user-friendly. The user is able to tailor their notifications as needed, pop in on any weeks missed, and get the point of what they're doing quite quickly. I have a hard time coming up with a con other than I feel that the current prompts available within the platform could be a bit more polished and varied. I found myself rewriting the majority of my dad's as the available queries felt very repetitive and at times less valuable.

a month ago

My sister got this subscription for our Mom as a gift. Once our mother was diagnosed with cancer, the meaning of it became so much more significant. I was able to request help on the design from the staff so I would not read it until published and enjoy it on our first Mother's Day alone after our mom's death. What a treasure that my sister and I now have to read about our loved one after her death! Thank you for the great care and support provided when asking weird questions of the staff. Plus, I was able to remove my copy from the mailer and then reuse it to ship to my sister.

2 months ago

It was a year's worth of reflecting and easily writing 52 stories in 52 weeks. It was so easy to get a question a week & write 1 story a week.

2 months ago

Storyworth provided a structure for putting my life in perspective as well as providing a vehicle for answering my children's weekly questions about my childhood, youth and especially about the formation of my values. How often I have wished I had asked my own parents more questions about their earlier lives! Especially in a culture where letter writing has declined as a form of memoir, it seems very important to capture in words a portrait of our loved ones' lives. I value Storyworth's providing the wherewithal to help one do exactly that! I'm very pleased with the published book that also includes favorite photos to amplify the text.

2 months ago

For some time, I had contemplated writing a history of my life. I wanted to leave a record of my existence for my kids and grandchildren. I wanted this and I was motivated to do it, but I really didn’t know where to begin…until my daughter gave me the gift of Storyworth! Storyworth presented me with an opportunity to tell my story in a unique and impactful way. Instead of a chronological recitation of events, the weekly Storybook “questions” caused me to focus on topics that allowed me to truly reveal those experiences in my life that shaped me as a person. These were things my kids wanted to know but also things that I wanted them to know…things like my religious beliefs, things like my successes and failures, things like my philosophy of life, things about my work experiences, things about my relationships and the people I love, etc. It was more about the ingredients that made me who I am and not about dates and places. Each week, the stories took me about an hour or two to write. Honestly, I couldn’t wait to get the weekly question on Monday! The questions caused me to be very introspective and I feel that , by writing on these questions, I have grown as an individual. I received my books last week. I ordered the color version ( which I highly recommend!). I purchased four copies for the important people in my life! The book is professionally printed and bound. I am proud of the book of my “Reflections “ that I wrote and that Storybook helped me produced. I feel comforted knowing that I had an opportunity to explain, in my own words, my life’s story.

2 months ago

The program was very easy to use, and the structure, answering one question a week for a year, allowed me to complete my life stories that I otherwise would have never started. I am delighted with the final product, the coloured photos, hard cover and design look better than I expected.

2 months ago

It's okay. I'm not thrilled about the experience. For how expensive the membership and book purchase were, I don't think it was worth it. The questions were very repetitive, editing the book was tedious, and the quality of the book isn't great.

2 months ago

My dad absolutely loved the experience of writing his life story. The finished book arrived in the post yesterday (UK) but he wanted to wait for me to FaceTime to open it with me. He was delighted with the look of the book. Even the photos which had flagged up as being low quality came out well. We needed the three months after the year’s prompts ended to pull it all together. The editing tool is a bit clunky - you had to edit carefully so that your photos sat within the text - downloading the whole text to ‘preview’ after edits. But we did it and Dad is really delighted with the end result. We paid extra for colour photos inside. Customer support were good at answering questions we had about upgrading to colour and ordering extra copies. This is a great gift!

2 months ago

This was an excellent experience! What a great way to encourage us to share history, family, remembrances with our kids. Process made it easy to build gradually and generate a prized collection of memories!

2 months ago

I just received my book from Storyworth and I love it!  It is professionally made, very sturdy, and it even feels good to the touch! I especially love the book design and color options, and also the ability to choose the size and shape of the cover photo.  In December of 2022, our youngest daughter gave me a gift subscription to Storyworth as a Christmas gift. So, for the previous 15 months, I’ve been busy writing and editing, primarily using my blog for the bulk of my content. Storyworth gives you a year and three months to finish writing the book, so I took advantage of the whole allotted time and submitted mine just a couple days before it was due! My book is based on my life story, my family, and my journey of faith. It has 65 chapters and 480 pages, which is the maximum amount of pages allowed. After I finish proofreading my first copy of the book, I’m planning on ordering several copies to give to my kids and grandkids.  If you’ve ever considered writing a book, I recommend Storyworth. They send you interesting questions each week to help spark memories which, combined with a little inspiration, help you put your memories into words. While I primarily used my blog to write my book, I used one of their questions to inspire me to write a story about all of the great cooks in my family.  It’s titled, “What’s Cooking?!”  It’s one of the longest stories in my book, and includes recipes and treasured photos of my grandma, my mom, my sister, my daughters, grandkids, and my mother-in-law. While I love all of my stories in my book, this chapter is very special to me. 

2 months ago

This was a Christmas gift from my daughter. I wasn't sure about how it would all work out, but answering the questions was fun and thought provoking. I didn't really know a lot about how to plan the book, and I didn't realize that you could arrange the order of the stories. I'm glad the book allowed pictures, because it made the entire book more valuable! One word of caution! I had left 3 drafts of stories and thought they would have been included in the final product, but they weren't and, of course, they were the most valuable of all the stories! I didn't know they weren't included until I got the book. Storyworth worked with me to fix the problem and gave me a discount on ordering a new book! I liked that I got an extra 3 months at the end of the year to finish my stories. I would recommend Storyworth to anyone who has family stories to tell. The final product was exceptional. I love it!

2 months ago

Father in law

Storyworth is a tremendous opportunity for people to leave a written and photographic legacy for generations. The questions asked enable us to examine not only the events of our lives, but to describe our feelings, triumphs, and disappointments with the benefit of self reflection.

2 months ago

This was a Christmas present from my son and daughter in law. Writing every week was easier than I expected. I liked being able to add pictures. The book came quickly and the quality is wonderful.

3 months ago

I loved the questions that would come and the ability to remove, add or rearrange them. I ordered this for myself and our immediate family as my son is an only child and I wanted him to have stories one day when we are no longer here to remember us by (and maybe take a few tips or suggestions before then). I also thought the ability to add pictures to each story was a great idea. I just ordered the final product and am excited to give it to him for the first volume.

3 months ago

Storyworth made it easy for me to write most of the highlights of my life. Once I started, I looked forward to continuing my story even though some of the writing I did was done with much soul-searching. It was a particularly difficult time of my life right after my husband died, but my daughter thought that would be a good time to search and write. I am ever so grateful to her.

3 months ago

Kept me on track writing stories selected by my son/daughter-in-law. Great subjects picked for me. Leaving a legacy behind is precious. Book came quickly, beautifully bound and colorful pictures were terrific.

3 months ago

Writing on a weekly routine was a good practice to keep me thinking. I enjoyed a variety of prompts and the freedom to explore a pop up idea. The experience brought to mind some treasured memories.

3 months ago

Sharing your life’s experiences can be enriching. It was for me., My purpose was to give my grandkids an account of my eighty plus years of experience which for the most part was a legacy of love and good fortune.