Fishwife

4.5 171 Reviews

Fishwife makes ethically-sourced and traceable premium tinned seafood like smoked albacore tuna and rainbow trout.

Best of Thingtesting
Fishwife Reviews

Fishwife reviews

Best of Thingtesting4.51

Best of Thingtesting #4 in Pantry

90% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

  • High-quality, delicious fish
  • Ethical sourcing commitment
  • Impressive flavor range
  • Attractive, unique packaging
  • Exciting collaborations
  • Overpriced products
  • Insufficient quantity
  • Overpowering flavors in some products
  • Unappealing smoky taste

Fishwife is praised for its high-quality, delicious tinned fish and ethical sourcing, with special mention of their smoked rainbow trout and collaborations like the Fly by Jing. The brand's commitment to sustainability, impressive range of flavors, and unique, attractive packaging are additional strengths. However, many customers find the products overpriced, and some feel the quantity received doesn't justify the cost. While the product flavors are generally appreciated, few reports of overpowering flavors and unappealing smoky taste indicate room for improvement.

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

171 reviews

15 days ago

my first little foray into tinned fish after seeing it all over my tiktok page was with fishwife and it really blew me away! really tasty, cute packaging, long-lasting, definitely worth the price. i LOVE the partnership with fly by jing and think that there's many opportunities for other cool collabs in the future.

25 days ago

Though a bit on the expensive side (I had a coupon for $2 off the normal $8.99 price), this is one of those situations where you absolutely get what you pay for. I purchased the slow-smoked mackerel with chili flakes, and absolutely loved it. I've tasted a few other brands—King Oscar immediately comes to mind—and these were far and away more flavorful. There's a touch of sugar and garlic mixed in with the olive oil and chilis, which adds a unique sweetness and punch to the overall taste (It's so good I saved the oil to blend in with vinegar for a future salad dressing). If you like tinned fish, definitely give this one a try!

21 days ago

I am OBSESSED with fishwife tinned fish. I recently ordered the smokey trio & ate all 3 cans in a week. my go to prep is grilling some sourdough and topping it with cream cheese or some sort of spread and then top with the fish. it’s incredible! I do think it’s kind of expensive - it’s a special occasion thing in my household but if you do have the cash I would stock up! I understand the pricing being high due to everything that goes into it and how high quality the fish is. The branding and everything is so on point - I LOVE fish wife! try asap.

4 months ago

These tinned fish are soooo good! I bought the 2023 Big Fish Pack so I could try a bunch of different flavors. The fish holds up over time and tastes so premium. The one thing I'll add is that it's pretty expensive for tinned fish, and there are still great brands at my local grocery store that I would purchase for more regular tinned fish consumption. This is a great special occasion snack!

4 months ago

I had the Fly By Jing salmon and it was delicious but insanely overpriced for farmed salmon. I will just buy wild-caught salmon and add the sauce myself...

4 months ago

some of the best tin fish i've had! very much a splurge, the cost is a lot for what you get. cute packaging though.

5 months ago

Obviously the packaging and branding is A1, but as cute as that is, the price point is way too high to see myself as a repeat customer. I bought a little bit of everything for my husband to try and his comments were “that one brand from MOM is still better. (Raincoast) I tried the smoked tuna myself and wasn’t really feeling it. It was such a tiny amount and I didn't like the smoke flavor. That’s my personal preference, so if you’re a smoky person it may be wonderful. It almost seems like they’re a graphic design house that stumbled upon fish, instead of the other way around.

5 months ago

Love the flavour, the texture and how it taste. But the only thing is that it is exapensive for the amount. But overall it is really good and I love the packaging.

4 months ago

I got these in a sampler box and they are STUNNING quality. A little spendy, but it's a luxury product. Great for packing on a hike or adding to a salad or charcuterie spread. For special occasions not every day, due to the price. The trout though is fire. Smokey and fresh, not oily. I might buy that one more frequently...

4 months ago

I tried the rainbow trout and it was pretty tasty, but I don't feel that this brand is worth the high prices they charge. It feels like they're trying to make this feel high-end and hipster-y and so you're basically paying for the pretty packaging. I'll stick to the Trader Joe's trout.

4 months ago

For all my tinned fish girlies - this is IT! Not only is the packaging the cutest, but the flavors are so so so yummy and the perfect topping on any crisp. The smoked salmon is definitely one of my favorites, especially paired with a pita chip, squeeze of lemon, side of mini pickles, a some hot sauce. This could easily be a yummy "girl dinner" or something to crack open with some friends over wine. Love this tinned brand!

5 months ago

I eat a lot of tinned fish. I did it before it was trendy. Fishwife is one of my favorites. Especially on the go so that I don’t have to elevate my own can of sardines or salmon. Fishwife is always ready to go.

5 months ago

I purchased the anchovy tin and attempted to use it as a base for flavor in a pasta recipe. The product was easy to use - the anchovies dissolved quickly and easily in the dish. However, the flavor was quite bold (bolder than I expected) and created a very strong smell in the house. I don't feel as though it really added much of anything and I will probably not use their product again as the base of a dish. It was not cheap, created a lot of extra waste and I didn't love the final product.

2 months ago

I got their variety pack when they first came out to gift to my boyfriend for his birthday. He loved it and he’s a tin fish connoisseur (according to him). I tried the spicy tuna the other day and it was so good. I put it on a pita cracker with a bit of cottage cheese and unlocked my new favorite snack

5 months ago

Convenient for lunch, but I wish the cans were larger for the cost. I especially like the collab with Fly by Jing.

6 months ago

Received a free product from Fishwife

I really like flavors of Fishwife I tried - Smoked Salmon with Fly by Jing Sichuan Chili Crisp and Smoked Rainbow Trout. I don't think they're necessarily worth the money, though, and I'm not sure how I would incorporate them into a larger meal

4 months ago

I tried the tined anchovies and honestly they were exceptional anchovies. That being said ,the price point is a little high for what it is. The quality is definitely there, but at the end of the day I can't always justify spending so much on tinned fish. Definitely a fantastic upgrade when it's in the budget though!

5 months ago

Very tasty, the quality of the oil really makes a difference! Also the packaging is so cute- I feel like I need to put it on display! Would be fun for a gift but probably not an every day purchase.