Fishwife

4.75 • 12 Ratings

Fishwife makes ethically-sourced and traceable premium tinned seafood like smoked albacore tuna and rainbow trout.

What is Thingtesting?

Our mission is to build a trustworthy corner of the internet where people can come together and talk honestly about new online brands. Learn more.

4.8
Average rating from 12 users
100%
Would recommend it to a friend

Fishwife Reviews

Experience

I am truly speechless. YUM. Salty, briney, goodness all wrapped in a perfect-sized tin (housed in the most adorable of boxes). This incredible seafood is the perfect solution for any fellow pescatarians who struggle to find easy (yummy) on-the-go lunch. Make it the side or main entree, the choices are infinite.

Feedback

More types!

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Amazing websiteLove the brand's mission 💕
2 months ago
Experience

We need a moment of silence for the branding and packaging before we begin. WOW. ... ... ... So far I've tried the Salmon and Trout. When I first got them in the mail I was just so excited I didn't know what to do so I opened up the salmon and ate it straight from the tin (I mean hot girls eat tinned fish, right?). I didn't really love it like that, but the quality was incredible and I appreciated that. When it came time to try the trout, my friend whipped up a quick little dip with the limited ingredients in my house (celery, white wine vinegar, off-brand Ritz crackers), it was so good, an absolute HIT. I still have the Tuna left and will definitely be making some sort of dip or salad. Sad to see 'em go, love to watch 'em leave. I also have the dish towels that just make me so happy.

Feedback

I know there are recipes on the site, but it'd be great to have a fun lil post card or something in the box!

High qualityCool look & feelTasty 😋Luxury
Emma  Chozick's review of Fishwife
3 months ago
Experience

Everything about Fishwife is magic. It's been super exciting to watch this brand put people on to the idea that tinned fish can be a fun addition in the kitchen. Also knowing that it comes from a sustainable source is really pleasing to the homegirls

Feedback

I wish that they shipped to Canada and that there was more diversity in the types of recipes that they are offering. It seems to cater to more of the Western idea when canned fish is quite big in other cultures!

High qualityFun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Sustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
7 months ago
Experience

Even better than expected! Such a great snack. I wasn't really sure what to make with them so I just at it on a saltine cracker, which was perfect.

Feedback

The boxes are cute but it's such a bummer to have a boring little tin on the inside! I wish the tins themselves were designed/printed on so I could display them on my shelf.

Cool look & feelTasty 😋Sustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
10 months ago
Experience

Love the smoked tuna from Fishwife - and very excited to try the other flavors! The look of the brand is so fun and makes eating tinned fish feel cool :)

Feedback

More flavors!

Tasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
10 months ago
Experience

I got to try Fishwife at their first pop-up in LA, and I had a great time! Getting to try their fish with some other chosen items was pretty awesome, and it was a great first impression. I went with the smoked rainbow trout, and it paired perfectly with focaccia bread and butter. While I definitely prefer my fish not to be smoked, I still enjoyed it. I also really love the packaging for the tins. The little box it comes in is beautiful, and I kept mine and will reuse it to store small items in.

Feedback

When I am used to paying less than a dollar for a tin of fish, charging $24 for three tins is hard for me to justify the cost, especially when I prefer non-smoked fish. I do love how the fish is sustainable, so if they are able to get the price down a bit, I would love this a ton. Also, maybe add some non-smoked options.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityTasty 😋Sustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
10 months ago
Experience

Really impressed by the look, feel and taste of Fishwife. It's making canned fish seem tasty and good for the planet. Not at all like how I'd associate canned fish from growing up. The trout was especially flavorful.

Feedback

More varieties would be welcome.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelTasty 😋Eco-friendly packagingSustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
a year ago
Experience

I really loved the site experience and overall vibe and aesthetic. I got the rainbow trout and it didn't taste canned at all. It's a great sized lunch for one and I made it with toast and a pasta dish.

Feedback

I'd love more recipe ideas and to try other types of canned fish from Fishwife!

High qualityCool look & feelTasty 😋Amazing websiteEco-friendly packagingSustainable products
Natalie Sportelli's review of Fishwife
a year ago
Experience

The packaging is so awesome, it makes something as gross as sardines totally giftable! :D As you can probably tell, I didn't buy this product for myself. My husband is a lover or sardines, anchovies, etc. and I thought this would be a nice surprise that we could both enjoy (me for the vibe, him for the product). He really liked the quality of the fish PLUS our 2 year old can't stop eating it...which is shocking but also says something about how good this stuff is. I'm excited to try the trout (which I'll actually eat).

Feedback

I thought the whole experience was actually pretty seamless...

Good for gifts 🎁Cool look & feelWorth the money 💸Tasty 😋Luxury
2 months ago
Experience

Got a variety pack & ate them all in one week — love the recipe inspo on their site! Definitely go for the tahini trout salad sandwich.

Feedback

No comment! Excited to order more!

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Tasty 😋Love the brand's mission 💕
2 months ago