Rent The Runway

3.8228 Reviews

Rent The Runway offers clothing rental giving everyone access to designer garments and accessories.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

3.8
Average rating from 28 users
86%
Would recommend it to a friend

Rent The Runway Reviews

14 days ago
Experience

I liked the dress that I rented for a wedding. It made it much easier than shopping for a dress. Sometimes the selection can seem a bit limited.

Feedback

Expand into more high end brands and novel styles

High qualityWorth the money 💸Size & shade inclusive
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

Loved it

Feedback

Wish it was in London!

Everyday wearLove the brand's mission 💕Luxury
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

Used to be that you could have access to a ton of clothes and dresses, but the depth of stock for each item seems to have thinned over time. Lots of time the item I want to rent is out of stock for weeks around my event date - and it doesn't feel like me being late to rent, rather I look across items and dates and find limited stock. Usually I just end up buying items because renting from here doesn't get me the item I want to try.

Feedback

deeper stock of individual items.

Fun unboxing 📦
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

I used to like RTR but the last few times I’ve done it, not great. It’s cheaper than buying, sure, but the last dress I got tore at the shoulder seam the first time I tried it in, and there was no time to get a replacement due to their short window of how long you can keep items. Same thing happened to a friend. I’ve also received dresses that were pilling. Overall, it feels unreliable- that you can count on it to be perfect for your big occasion. I did end up wearing the sparkle dress in the picture. Didn’t love it bc the straps were too long and not supportive and my arms rubbed against the sequins and gave me a rash (super fun)

Feedback

Quality, inspecting the items

Special occasion 💃
Molly L's review of Rent The Runway
Useful review?
a month ago
Experience

I have had some great experiences with RTR, but as of late, the product offerings have been bleak. When looking for dress options to wear for weddings, I was disappointed by the lack of suitable choices in my size (and I prepared by looking months in advance to secure a style). For the price of the rental, I've pulled back and started looking elsewhere for outfits that I actually love (and know I will wear again).

Feedback

Improved product assortment

Useful review?
4 months ago
Experience

Love the idea and the options, but the clothing doesn't really work for my body type since I always need to adjust formal dresses I purchase. I do love their NY sample sale and go whenever it happens, so I'm glad about the options and opportunity to try on clothing before purchasing!

Innovative productSpecial occasion 💃Business casual
Useful review?
5 months ago
Special occasion 💃Business casualEco-friendly packagingLuxury
Useful review?
5 months ago
Experience

I was attending a wedding in Palm Springs and didn't really have anything to wear for the occasion, and didn't want to buy anything so it seemed like the right time to visit RTR. I don't know if it was because it was a first time use but I was able to order two sizes in the main dress I wanted which was amazing because the smaller size did NOT fit. I loved that I didn't have a dress I'd never wear again sitting in my closet. The whole process was very easy, with little to no effort on my part. I would absolutely utilize this again, probably only for weddings.

Feedback

I do wish they had some wider selections of certain brands, but I understand that's not always possible.

Worth the money 💸Special occasion 💃Love the brand's mission 💕
Useful review?
6 months ago
Experience

Love the novelty of getting new clothes in the mail, and the subscription is very fun. It's especially great for rotating through big-ticket items like outerwear. The user reviews are also very helpful.

Feedback

Most clothes are in good shape, although I did receive certain things that showed signs of wear. Sometimes the selections were limited and options I wanted to try were consistently unavailable. It was disappointing to receive clothes that were unflattering or didn't fit.

Special occasion 💃Fun unboxing 📦Everyday wear
Useful review?
6 months ago
Experience

RTR has been really helpful for a few events. I used it for 2 galas and 1 themed birthday party (tropical disco) and had great experiences with the customer service and style selection! Receiving the same style in 2 sizes has been really important since different brands use different sizing. I appreciate that RTR includes 2 sizes in the price for 1 style. Each time I've "rented the runway" I get SO many compliments! Part of this is probably because I want to make my RTR money/experience count so I get styles I wouldn't normally wear. I'm interested in the monthly membership but haven't pulled the trigger on this yet. I have friends who do this and love it but I'm too dedicated to my existing closet at the moment. My pregnant sister just started the monthly membership to rent maternity clothes and I honestly believe this is the most valuable part of Rent the Runway.

Lovely customer supportSpecial occasion 💃Maternity
Liz S's review of Rent The Runway
Useful review?