Rent The Runway

3.8622 Reviews

Rent The Runway offers clothing rental giving everyone access to designer garments and accessories.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

3.9
Average rating from 22 users
91%
Would recommend it to a friend

Rent The Runway Reviews

Experience

Love the idea and the options, but the clothing doesn't really work for my body type since I always need to adjust formal dresses I purchase. I do love their NY sample sale and go whenever it happens, so I'm glad about the options and opportunity to try on clothing before purchasing!

Innovative productSpecial occasion 💃Business casual
3 months ago
Special occasion 💃Business casualEco-friendly packagingLuxury
4 months ago
Experience

I was attending a wedding in Palm Springs and didn't really have anything to wear for the occasion, and didn't want to buy anything so it seemed like the right time to visit RTR. I don't know if it was because it was a first time use but I was able to order two sizes in the main dress I wanted which was amazing because the smaller size did NOT fit. I loved that I didn't have a dress I'd never wear again sitting in my closet. The whole process was very easy, with little to no effort on my part. I would absolutely utilize this again, probably only for weddings.

Feedback

I do wish they had some wider selections of certain brands, but I understand that's not always possible.

Worth the money 💸Special occasion 💃Love the brand's mission 💕
4 months ago
Experience

Love the novelty of getting new clothes in the mail, and the subscription is very fun. It's especially great for rotating through big-ticket items like outerwear. The user reviews are also very helpful.

Feedback

Most clothes are in good shape, although I did receive certain things that showed signs of wear. Sometimes the selections were limited and options I wanted to try were consistently unavailable. It was disappointing to receive clothes that were unflattering or didn't fit.

Special occasion 💃Fun unboxing 📦Everyday wear
4 months ago
Experience

RTR has been really helpful for a few events. I used it for 2 galas and 1 themed birthday party (tropical disco) and had great experiences with the customer service and style selection! Receiving the same style in 2 sizes has been really important since different brands use different sizing. I appreciate that RTR includes 2 sizes in the price for 1 style. Each time I've "rented the runway" I get SO many compliments! Part of this is probably because I want to make my RTR money/experience count so I get styles I wouldn't normally wear. I'm interested in the monthly membership but haven't pulled the trigger on this yet. I have friends who do this and love it but I'm too dedicated to my existing closet at the moment. My pregnant sister just started the monthly membership to rent maternity clothes and I honestly believe this is the most valuable part of Rent the Runway.

Lovely customer supportSpecial occasion 💃Maternity
Liz S's review of Rent The Runway
4 months ago
Experience

Have been a subscriber for the past year and truly loved my experience. The customer service is kind and super responsive, their selection is impressive and ships to me same day within NYC! Over time, RTR has narrowed in on my sizing super well and I've been impressed with how they can recommend clothes that actually fit me.

Feedback

I would love to learn more about RTR's sustainability standards/processes. I've also found that sometimes in higher demand periods the selection of clothes actually available to rent can be quite low.

Lovely customer supportWorth the money 💸Special occasion 💃Business casualEveryday wearFit just rightLuxury
4 months ago
Experience

I have always had a good experience renting the runway for special occasions like prom, weddings, etc. One time I got a dress two days before a big event that didn't fit me and they let me swap it out for free at the NYC store and it was such a relief.

Feedback

I have found sometimes though the selection for a specific week to be desired...I have also eyed their more everyday clothes rental selection and just tend to find that most of it is more frilly for my fashion taste but I'm probably not their target demo for that subscription anyway. I wish I knew more about if the shipping + dry cleaning ops were really as sustainable of an option as they say.

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityWorth the money 💸Special occasion 💃Amazing websiteLuxury
4 months ago
🤝Friends with Rent The Runway
Experience

I have been using Rent the Runway for years, and now I cannot live without it. I am *literally* hooked, because without it I would have no clothes. I have become deeply dependent on it - which is totally the point! I started to work with this brand in college and their crash courses made me fall in love with the brand. I love their ethos, I love their branding, I love what they stand for. I am such an authentic spokesperson for this company.

Feedback

RTR could use more youthful brands, more high end brands and I would love them to bring back their unlimited program.

Lovely customer supportHigh qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Amazing websiteEco-friendly packagingLove the brand's mission 💕
6 months ago
Experience

It’s a really smart concept and it definitely led the charge for similar services. The clothing on the site is so exciting and other services now offer items that are a little more “hip”

Feedback

More styles !

High qualityInnovative productCool look & feelWorth the money 💸Size & shade inclusive Special occasion 💃Fun unboxing 📦Fit just rightAmazing websiteLuxury
9 months ago
Experience

Overall I think think this is a great concept and product but it may not be for everyone. I love to buy and try new clothes because it gives me something to look forward to and it makes me feel like I’m good about myself to dress well. Rent the Runway allows you to rent nice designer clothing for a fraction of the price of buying but I think the real reason I keep coming back to it is the reviews. You can read real reviews and see photos of people wearing the clothes IRL to get a better understanding of how things look and fit. To me this is invaluable because the model pictures on company websites keep getting worse and worse (you can barely see the actual clothing these days). I also think RTR does a great job of bringing in cute new on trend items. I have both subscribed to the monthly rental service and one time rental both with great success. I’ve rented clothes and accessories for work, weddings, camping, dinners, beach days, and a million other things.

Feedback

I will gladly give RTR 5 stars when the improve the following: - extended sizes including petite and tall sizes - better quality control —sometimes i get things that are too worn and should have been taken out of rotation - easier cancellation (you have to email or call)

Worth the money 💸Sustainable productsLove the brand's mission 💕
10 months ago