Proxies

2.4 36 Reviews

Proxies makes a non-alcoholic wine alternative using a blend of grapes, teas, spices, and complex ferments.

Proxies Reviews

Proxies reviews

2.44

40% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

  • Impressive marketing strategy
  • Appeals to non-drinkers
  • Offers variety of flavors
  • Suitable for special occasions
  • Unpleasant, kombucha-like taste
  • Overpriced for quality
  • Inadequate customer service
  • Strict return policy

Proxies non-alcoholic wines have received mixed reviews. While the brand has been praised for its marketing efforts and appeal to non-drinkers, many customers criticized the taste, likening it to bad kombucha or a poor mix of ingredients. Customer service and return policies have also been called into question.

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

36 reviews

2 months ago

This stuff was just awful.. bought a whole case and could not return any of it. Such a disappointing waste of money. I was excited to try it, but each of the 3 varieties smelled so disgusting I couldn't drink a bit. My husband and I both agreed that it was a sickening rotted smell... Poured it all down the sink. The company refused to allow any return. I feel stupid for being influenced by their marketing.

4 months ago

Smells like moldy kombucha and tastes like kombucha and kool aid. My wife and I had to pinch our nose to drink the Red Clay. Site also misleadingly does not clearly state a “no returns” policy for any unopened product. Misleading reviews on site as well. I contacted the CEO directly and he couldn’t give me a straight answer as to why they don’t clearly state their return policy.

4 months ago

Out of the case of four I dumped in the sink two of the bottles as they were completely undrinkable. Two were consumed just of pure greed for the money spent. Stay away from this. For $25 a bottle they could have added some bitters and stuff for a complex aroma.. This purchase of $118 is incredibly disappointing...

5 months ago

I got “Red ember” from a local store.. so glad i didn’t buy a whole case. I’d explored their website before and been inclined to order based on all the 5 star reviews. After trying it, I had to double check their website, because this doesn’t deserve anywhere close to 5 stars. If you go in expecting kombucha, you won’t be disappointed. Unsure how they can charge so much for cloudy juice. It even hurt my stomach a bit. 5/5 for their marketing team though….

5 months ago

I got a variety set and each one was terrible in its own way. I didn’t expect them to taste exactly like wine (especially the “champagne” substitute) but honestly I could’ve just had seltzer in a stem glass. I’d prefer no flavor at all to these. The color is murky and the flavors are heavy and really unpleasant. I can’t imagine what foods they think this would pair with. The red wine actually gave my husband stomach issues. Not good.

5 months ago

Undrinkable: tried 6 different bottles and all were terrible and had to be poured out. So disappointing. Do not buy this product if you like wine. I feel duped by a clever instagram campaign.

5 months ago

I really wanted to enjoy Proxies, but after buying 6 different bottles of a mix of red, rose and white wines I am entirely disappointed and feel as though I wasted my money. Not only were they not good to drink, but actually smelt and tasted like they had gone bad and was not enjoyable to drink. I'll have to admit the white ones are drinkable when you toss a little sparkling water or frozen fruit in the mix, however not worth the high price. The reds - holly molly - I tried everything - the pairings, letting it breathe, asking others to drink it, and it just tasted like watered down rancid beet juice. The smell is awful too. They are doing great for marketing, clearly, I was convinced to buy a case, but they are sitting in my fridge and not drinkable in my eyes. Save your money, and make yourself some yummy mocktails at home. I also tried to reach out to Proxies to let them know about this experience (in case it was a bad batch, or something happened during shipping), and the best they could offer was a 20% discount on future offers, which after trying 6 different bottles is not the direction I'll go.

6 months ago

Attractive marketing but it's impossible to finish your drink. There were 5 people at the table and everyone agreed: undrinkable. It looks like we mixed herbal tea, kombucha and kool-aid together. Can't call this a "good alternative to wine".

9 months ago

Non-alcoholic wine is super hard to get right, and unfortunately, this didn't get close for me. It was too sweet, almost more like juice than wine. I think they would have done themselves a favor by simply calling it a non-alcoholic drink, instead of wine, to lower expectations and simply put them in a different category of beverages.

a year ago

Let me tell you about Proxies, the non-alcoholic drink that's rocking my taste buds! This stuff is seriously amazing. First of all, the flavor selection is out of this world. They've got a range of unique and refreshing options that are perfect for any occasion. From zesty citrus blends to tantalizing herbal concoctions, Proxies has got your taste buds covered. But what really sets Proxies apart is the quality of their ingredients. They use only the finest, natural ingredients to create these delicious drinks. No artificial flavors or weird chemicals here! Just pure goodness in every sip. I love how Proxies manages to capture the essence of a great cocktail without any alcohol. It's like having a sophisticated drink without the hangover. Whether you're the designated driver or simply prefer to skip the alcohol, Proxies is the perfect companion. Plus, the packaging is sleek and stylish. These bottles are Instagram-worthy, trust me. You'll feel like a trendsetter while sipping on your Proxies. So, if you're looking for a non-alcoholic beverage that's bursting with flavor and made with love, look no further than Proxies. It's the ultimate drink for those who want to enjoy the party without the alcohol. Cheers to that!

2 years ago

The branding is on point! These bottles look amazing. The taste is very interesting. They say it isn’t wine and it certainly is not. It is somewhere between a cocktail mixer, juice and wine. I enjoyed some more than others, but I still missed wine in dry Jan. Sauvage was a winner! It is however a big step-up from alcohol-removed wine!

Feedback

I am glad these were ground shipped (even if it took weeks), but wish they used less packaging or something less environmentally impactful.

6 months ago

Received a free product from Proxies

I was offered a BOGO deal when purchasing two bottles, so gave it a try. I guess calling it a "wine alternative" is an appropriate term, but after tasting both bottles (one red, one white) I wouldn't say anyone would think of this as wine. It's more like a type of kombucha packaged in wine bottles. The taste was okay, but nothing remotely like wine. At $19.99 per bottle, the price is waaaay too high, too. I didn't hate it, but I wouldn't buy it again.

2 years ago

This is such a wonderful idea. Purchased for a pregnant friend who LOVES her wine and we planned to meet weekly to open the bottles. The flavours were complex, but too sweet in the first red. It felt like drinking Port. The second bottle of white was lovely. It reminded me of kombucha. And I would totally buy it again if it cost the same as kombucha, but for $30 a bottle, I'l stick to kombucha. Honestly such a cool idea and I'm sure the price is appropriate for the work involved, but just not that enjoyable.

Feedback

Not worth the price, not really an alternative for wine lovers exploring other options

a year ago

Such a great product. I love de-alconated wine, but this takes a fresh new spin on it. Rather than trying to imitate the flavors of wine, Proxies create unique flavors that replicated the vibe of wine.

Feedback

Love the product, would be great to see wider availability

10 months ago

I personally love the taste of Proxies non-alc wines. However, I will say you can't go into it expecting it to taste like wine. They're more of a ~complex juice~ with botanical notes and hints of spices. I love drinking them out of a fancy glass with some ice as a little sweet treat. And the bottles look so great with a big dinner spread - big fan.

a year ago

the perfect product for the moment when you want a glass of wine, but don't actually want to be drinking wine. proxies have a subtle, vegetal and fruity flavor that pairs deliciously with food. the packaging is stunning. highly recommend for hostess gifts, dinner parties, or just because.

a year ago

I think Proxies is a great alternative to alcoholic wine. It has the look and taste of actual wine as well as a super cute bottle! They are so sweet as well, they donated a lot of product to an event of ours! Love them!

a year ago

I love wine but I also want to tone down my alcohol consumption. My sober curious quest led me to Acid League's compelling line of wine alternatives. I enjoyed their white wine alternative the most. It was refreshing and energizing and I emptied the bottle in 30 min. Alas, I'm mostly a red wine drinker and their red alts didn't do it for me. The viscosity of the liquid and the heavily meaty taste were too much for me. Also worth noting: these contain tea. If you're sensitive to caffeine like I am, it's best to avoid drinking these too close to bedtime. Cheers.

Feedback

Improve mouthfeel and continue testing red proxies formulation.

7 months ago

As someone who does not drink, I enjoy Proxies for evenings shared with guests or elevating a homemade dinner with my partner. In terms of a comparison to wine. I do not think this product tastes anything like wine, it lives somewhere closer to a fancy punch. I enjoy it enough, however, that I ordered 10 bottles for my wedding in 2022, as many of the guests were also non-drinkers.

a year ago

One of the best out there - I truly enjoy this wine alternative and the cute and clever branding just makes it that much more fun to sub alcohol for.