AeroPress

4.6 44 Reviews

AeroPress designed a new kind of coffee press that combines affordability with simplicity to create fresh coffee within 30 seconds.

Best of Thingtesting
AeroPress Reviews

AeroPress reviews

Best of Thingtesting4.61

Best of Thingtesting #7 in Coffee

93% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

  • Easy to use
  • Produces high-quality coffee
  • Portable and travel-friendly
  • Economical coffee making
  • Not the easiest to clean
  • Taste affected by metal filters
  • Requires practice for perfect use
  • Can get messy if not careful

The AeroPress is beloved for its ease of use, portability, and the high-quality, smooth coffee it brews. However, it's not the easiest to clean, and the taste can be affected by the use of metal filters.

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

44 reviews

4 months ago

I love it. Such a good taste, and no excess waste. About 1 in every 10 times I use it I end up getting coffee all over the place, but that's more a me problem than anything else.

5 months ago

I’ve used for years, on and off. Both great for a quick cup of coffee in the morning and for travel. I got out of the habit but recently discovered the Prismo add on by Fellow that raised the game even further. As it comes, it makes a great standard cup of coffee at probably the lowest initial investment. With the Fellow attachment, it’s a whole other level with espresso style coffee without the cost and counter space of a dedicated machine. Is it as good as a three thousand dollar version? Of course not, but for coffee at home for normal people it’s a great option. Amongst our multiple ways of making coffee, I keep coming back to Aeropress and it never disappoints.

4 months ago

This is my new go-to coffee maker. It's easy to use and has proven to be a major improvement over my metal-filter pour over coffee maker. And filter refills are pretty low cost.

6 months ago

I absolutely love my aeropress. A friend of mine got it for me as a birthday gift in 2019, and I have been preferring it over the multitude of tools I acquired over the years. Now I don’t think it makes espresso that rivals a fancy espresso machine, but it makes damn good coffee; especially when using the award winning recipes on the website. I do think the best way I’ve used it was the inverted method, it delivered more concentrated coffee, and the paper filters were good enough.

5 months ago

One of my favorite ways to make coffee. I love how easy it is to make a single cup of GOOD coffee.

5 months ago

Love love love the aeropress. I’ve done direct comparison between it and high-end espresso machines and the resulting pulls are hard to differentiate. Except an aeropress is portable, compact and can be used at a campfire!

9 months ago

Makes a good cup of coffee but Is so annoying to use. I don’t want to deal with all of that & exert myself physically like that first thing in the morning. Is not a very accessible product for the elderly or disabled.

3 years ago

Use it every single morning and love it. Invested in a metal mesh instead of the paper disposables and it's well worth it. Had to replace the rubber plunger but that's rare after frequent use. Love it!

Feedback

More flexibility around the size of cups used for the pressing. We love big mugs of coffee and need to use the funnel to press as such.

6 months ago

Perfect coffee maker for camping or life! It's super simple to use and doesn't take up a lot of room. It's fun to use as well and makes you feel like you're actually doing something instead of just flipping a switch to get your coffee. It can get a big messy if you aren't careful, but this is a great gift for any coffee lover who's interested in trying out new methods.

a year ago

Aeropress is one of my favorite product inventions of the last 50 years. It's distinct, effective, and affordable. I can't explain it, but you can't make a bad cup of coffee with the aeropress. Measure your coffee down to the gram, flip it upside down, agitate it halfway, or do whatever else some coffee influencer suggested and you'll end up with a cup that's only 10% better than if you blindly scooped coffee in with the included spoon and followed the recommended use instructions. Every coffee enjoyer should have an Aeropress.

Feedback

I only wish I invented the Aeropress. It's perfect.

3 years ago

Who would've thought a frisbee maker could also bring a new brewing method to the coffee-world? The thing I like most about my AeroPress is the portability, I can bring it anywhere and be sure to get a great cup of coffee. I also love the ritual of it all and how hands-on it is.

Feedback

I think a reusable metal filter should be the default, and cleaning is a little tedious with all the separate parts.

3 years ago

I love the delight that comes from using the AeroPress. It's super easy and quick to use, and there are a ton of 'recipes' I can use depending on the type of coffee I have and the result I'm looking for.

6 months ago

I LOVE my aeropress! It’s so easy to use and makes such great coffee. The recipes/ratios found online are fun to follow and are always good. Can’t recommend it enough.

7 months ago

i love my aeropress, it’s by far the most economical coffee making purchase i’ve ever made. I’ve had mine forever, still works great, has come with me on trips and as long as i have ground coffee and hot water and a stash of filters i’m good to go. Easy to use in a low key way but also can really be elevated with the right technique and measurements if you want to get fancy. I’ve recommended aeropresses to many people in my life!

2 years ago

As someone who favours a flat white over a long black this was probably not the best purchase.

Feedback

It’s been rather messy the few times I’ve used it… I suggest you don’t wear white when operating the aeropress. The brew itself is quite okei.

3 years ago

This is good for camping and travel, but if you like the creamier, oilier texture of a french press or short black, then the aeropress will disappoint. It tastes more like drip/American coffee than anything else and brings out the acidity of your beans.

3 years ago

I've been using an aeropress for 20 years. You all know it makes a great cup of coffee. What you might not know is it's perfect for brewing where you don't have a kitchen sink for cleanup. It basically squeegees itself clean when you're done. My OG one is still going strong years later.

Feedback

Don't mess with success.

6 months ago

We used our original AeroPress for many years and recently upgraded to the clear version given our old one was no longer maintaining the seal between the plunger and the brew column. The product is easy to use and makes excellent tasting coffee. We personally use the Fellow Prismo adapter with the AeroPress, which has a reusable stainless steel filter. Both my wife and I, and many of our family members and friends prefer the taste of AeroPress brewed coffee over other brewing alternatives such as Chemex, French press, and drip coffee.

6 months ago

For the coffee snobs, this is a great product. It makes an amazing cup of coffee and is fun to play with. It is NOT simple though. Definitely not for people who are not interested in the art of making coffee