818 Tequila

3.3 31 Reviews

818 Tequila crafts unique tequila products with smooth and enjoyable taste.

818 Tequila Reviews

818 Tequila reviews

3.29

52% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

Reviews mention

AI summary based on Thingtesting reviews

31 reviews

3 months ago

818 has really come into its own. They moved distilleries immediately after launch and use very traditional processes to make a nice lineup of elegant tequilas. Blanco shows lemongrass and hints of vanilla from barrel finishing. Same for repo with more barrel expression. I really like the anejo and extra anejo for complexity. For the price these are very good tequilas now made at NOM 1607 which is a very impressive distillery. If you are looking for very old-school, earthy, herbal tequilas with an aggressive front pallet bite, these are not for you. But for the majority of consumers, these deliver a very nice experience. And they are b-corp, 1% for the Planet and doing amazing work giving back in Mexico building libraries and other community facilities. I don’t know of another young tequila company doing that

9 months ago

If you want a celebrity-hyped tequila that is hit or miss (sometimes it's good, sometimes it's not), then this is the brand for you. It's not Patron by any means. 818 Tequila has a very vanilla aftertaste to it and doesn't mesh well in a margarita but you might find it useful in a sweeter drink.

3 years ago

This tequila is wonderful! Especially the Reposado. It is one of the best tequila's I've had, perfect for cocktails or on the rocks, and bottle looks amazing!

9 months ago

The tequila is good, not great, but the frustrating thing I have realized is the prices are all over the place depending on where you shop. I've found that BevMo on Instacart has the best prices.

2 years ago

Really smooth and delicious. I was pleasantly surprised - thought it would be overhyped by kendal jenner tbh

a year ago

I am a huge tequila person, it is probably the only alcohol I drink. 818 was getting so hyped up I just had to try it. Nothing against the company, this was just not good tequila. I couldn’t finish a shot, so I tried making a simple margarita, still no. I feel bad by saying it isn’t good, but I recommend drinking something else.

2 years ago

I’m a BIG tequila girl and while I did enjoy 818, it wasn’t my favorite. Since beginning to drink authentic tequilas, celebrity brands have started to lose their shine to me and I definitely don’t feel like this tastes as good. The vanilla notes definitely seem like it would make this tequila easier to drink for people who have only ever had, like, Cuervo, but it’s not as authentic and that’s what I think I look for the most.

2 years ago

Sorry Kendall, but I don't love it. I'm a bit of a tequila snob and the flavor doesn't justify the price point well enough for me. I like the branding, but it just didn't go it for me.

a year ago

I used to work in the wine and spirit industry and had the chance to taste good tequila - this one is only marketing oriented, this is not a great tequila, the liquid is not what we are expecting. Marketing only - i dont recommend! I would go for Volcan Tequila

a year ago

I love tequila. And when I first tried 818, I thought I found my new go-to. Seriously, first bottle I had was SO GOOD. It tasted smooth yet sweet, perhaps hints of vanilla? It was a delicious chilled shot. However, the second bottle, I almost spit out the tequila immediately. I had to double check, it was actually 818. It was not good. They were bottled on different dates, and so this leads me to believe that they have a serious quality control issue. I tread with caution with buying this, haven’t found a bottle as good as my first encounter.

a year ago

818 is a truly no good tequila. I hosted a blind tasting with three celebrity blanco tequilas: 818, Casamigos, and Teremana. We didn't have really high expectations for any of them but by trying them blind, we could set our biases aside. 13/15 tasters put 818 last and it was no one's first choice. 818 smells and tastes like a birthday cake candle. If you enjoy distilled spirits, namely tequila, you will be disappointed by 818. By trying to make the product "smooth" and palatable, they killed off any desirable flavor qualities that might come from the agave itself. 818 is a tequila for people who don't like the taste of alcohol. I think a product like 818 has its place. It's probably easier to drink shots of 818 than a traditional tequila. It might taste fine mixed with juice or soda. But if those are the destination, a $45 bottle of tequila is not the way.

Feedback

If you make the mistake of buying this, please use it as a mixer. Kendall, if you're reading this, I'm sorry. I can not tell a lie.

2 years ago

The silver is honestly really smooth and I generally choose it over most other 100% agave tequilas, as embarrassing as that might be. However, the respado felt awful. Perhaps an acquired taste, but I personally could rarely get myself to stomach a shot of it, despite tequila always being my go-to. I've only ever drank both straight, so I can't speak to it tasting better when mixed, but my roommate enjoyed the reposado in the form of a tequila sunrise.

2 years ago

I don't drink much these days, but my roommates usually have 818 around during pregames. I've tried a few times. I think it's pretty tasty, but I think the branding is absolutely fantastic. Gets me going.

3 years ago

The marketing team deserves a round of applause because at first, I didn't want to purchase but they really created the feeling of FOMO so I bought a bottle online and was looking forward to testing it out for myself. I have to say, I am not an alcohol snob but I know what tastes good. My sister and I took shots straight (which I rarely do, but wanted to see how smooth it was) and it is smooth. After that, I made a deliciously sweet sugar-free margarita using MiraBurst, a shot of 818, and some lime juice. It was great. I probably will repurchase at some point if I come across it in person. Also, very aesthetically pleasing packaging.

9 months ago

I have enjoyed 818 tequila! It has an interesting vanilla aftertaste that I like better than other tequilas. I can actually take shots of this (and I have a pretty hard time with tequila shots usually!). Would definitely buy again.

10 months ago

There are better, great-tasting, less expensive tequilas out there. This is mostly celebrity hype.