23andMe

4.05 • 19 Reviews

23andMe sells DNA kits to offer personalized reports on genetic insights, ancestry, and trait variation.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands — because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.1
Average rating from 19 users
89%
Recommend it to a friend

23andMe Reviews

14 days ago
Experience

I loved finding out all about my health and genetic predispositions. It provided me some piece of mind knowing what to look out for. It was also fun knowing that there were genetic reasons behind me not liking cilantro, etc.

Feedback

I wish I could actually find out my countries of origin instead of that I was just 100% Ashkenazi Jewish.

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative productAmazing website
Useful review?
18 days ago
Experience

I used this to help me make decisions to imporve my health and welness, the gentic dns tsesting and family tree stuff has been very helpful too. looking to get my whoel family tested eventually.

Feedback

I used this to help me make decisions to imporve my health and welness, the gentic dns tsesting and family tree stuff has been very helpful too. looking to get my whoel family tested eventually.

Useful review?
20 days ago
Experience

Seamless experience from ordering, to collection and analysis. Wonderful to be able to have a personal analysis of your DNA.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸Fun unboxing 📦Amazing website
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

I really enjoyed this, especially getting to learn more about myself and what makes me, me. There is a ton of information that I would have never related to genetics otherwise and it's opened the door for even more exploration as my mother has tested herself as well.

Feedback

I only knocked it down to 4/5 because they, like every other brand at the moment, have introduced a subscription to access more information.

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative productWorth the money 💸
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

Mine came back and really showed me my heritage, it was an easy process and ended up buying for my whole family 🤭

Feedback

The price tag is a bit hefty.

Innovative product
Useful review?
2 months ago
Experience

Very cool product, but would not recommend. In the fine print, they can sell your information.

Feedback

Great consumer privacy security

Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

It really is a cool experience to see where you "come from". I enjoyed seeing the results for mine and also knowing more about myself.

Good for gifts 🎁Worth the money 💸
Useful review?
3 months ago
Experience

I used 23 and me and my results only said I was 99% Ashkenazi Jewish. I knew this.

Feedback

I would have liked to know exactly where I was from, not the cultural group to which I already know I am a part of. Kind of a fail.

Useful review?
4 months ago
Experience

Super easy to complete the kit, and the turn around was very fast. My results came back with nothing too overly interesting, but it was neat to see the breakdown and insights it provided. Emails providing additional insights and new results have continued every few weeks since getting the results, which is nice that it is not a one and done, never hear from us again type of company.

Useful review?
4 months ago
Experience

Fun little thing to do with family, definitely exciting to see the 'genealogy' of our DNA. My parents like doing the surveys and learning a little more about their genetic traits like hairline, taste, and other things which are influenced by dna. The packaging is good and it's easy, albeit a bit gross to do the 'dna collection'.

Feedback

Make it even clearer the privacy settings and how this will be used.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productWorth the money 💸
Useful review?