23andMe

4.5 β€’ 10 Reviews

23andMe sells DNA kits to offer personalized reports on genetic insights, ancestry, and trait variation.

What is Thingtesting?

Thingtesting is an unbiased place to research and review internet-born brands β€”Β because honest reviews help us all shop better. Learn more.

4.5
Average rating from 10 users
100%
Would recommend it to a friend

23andMe Reviews

Experience

Super easy to complete the kit, and the turn around was very fast. My results came back with nothing too overly interesting, but it was neat to see the breakdown and insights it provided. Emails providing additional insights and new results have continued every few weeks since getting the results, which is nice that it is not a one and done, never hear from us again type of company.

11 days ago
Experience

Fun little thing to do with family, definitely exciting to see the 'genealogy' of our DNA. My parents like doing the surveys and learning a little more about their genetic traits like hairline, taste, and other things which are influenced by dna. The packaging is good and it's easy, albeit a bit gross to do the 'dna collection'.

Feedback

Make it even clearer the privacy settings and how this will be used.

Good for gifts 🎁High qualityInnovative productWorth the money πŸ’Έ
19 days ago
Experience

tried this with my family, some interesting insights and an interesting christmas present, website has new content about your specific genealogy to review every month or two

Feedback

pretty good product, don't expect anything too much that you don't already know unless there are big question marks about your lineage

Good for gifts 🎁
a month ago
Experience

The process and easy and straightforward. I received my results quickly and I learned some new and interesting things about myself.

Feedback

The website could use a revamp. It’s not the most intuitive to use and I find that I have to click around a lot to find what I’m looking for.

Worth the money πŸ’Έ
a month ago
Experience

Obsessed, really interesting and loved connecting with relatives

Feedback

Took a while, but I also shipped from London

Good for gifts 🎁Fun unboxing πŸ“¦Amazing website
a month ago
Experience

test provided a lot of info on genealogy and ancestry, including maps, charts, and preference insights.

Feedback

a lot of ads about upgrades to view health reports

a month ago
Experience

This is a very cool product. I like learning about my ancestry and health. I know people who have had unique experiences of meeting long lost relatives. Such a good concept.

Feedback

A little pricy.

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative product
2 months ago
Experience

I was curious about my heritage, so I ordered a kit on Amazon's Black Friday sale. The results were pretty faster, arriving a few weeks before planned. I got to learn about where my ancestors lived, and got interesting health insights as well.

Feedback

I wish it was easier to connect 23andMe to other genealogy platforms.

Innovative productAmazing website
2 months ago
Experience

I'm so happy I decided to take a 23andMe DNA test. I purchased it at a special Black Friday deal, took the test and then had results back within a few weeks. I learned that many of my habits are actually influenced by genetics. I love coffee. My genetics mean I'm more likely to consume more caffeine πŸ˜…. Apparently I have more Neanderthal DNA than 80% of the population πŸ™ˆ. I also connected with a few distant relatives and pieced together our shared family history. The final thing I like about 23andMe is that it keeps getting better - they add new genetic reports all of the time.

Feedback

Personally I think 23andMe could do a much better job explaining what happens to your data, and how it is processed. Do they sell it on for research? If so, how is the data used?

Good for gifts 🎁Innovative productWorth the money πŸ’Έ
2 months ago
Experience

Expensive, but worth it if you’re really into your ancestry and genetic make-up. Website is easy to use/navigate. Plus, they are always updating your account with new genes tested and updated ancestry profile.

Feedback

Very expensive, but better price with sales.

Innovative productAmazing website
2 months ago