Mother Root

5 20 Reviews

Mother Root makes bold, alcohol-free aperitifs.

Mother Root Reviews

Mother Root reviews

5

100% of reviewers would recommend to a friend

20 reviews

a year ago

Lovely packaging and great flavour. Just what I was hoping for. I drink mine simply with ice and sparkling water and it is the most refreshing thing!

9 months ago

I love the Marmalade Switchel and will keep it on a subscription. Nice added to an occasional G&T! Will now try the Ginger Switchel, expect to be wowed!

a year ago

I first purchased Mother Root for my husband who loved anything ginger. Initially I made a long cold drink with soda, lemon and ginger with ice cubes. A really refreshing drink. During his illness I was making ginger tea with cinnamon, cloves, ginger and adding honey as it cooled slightly. Adding Mother Root into this mixture gave it the extra ginger hit. The tea helped to relieve the mucus from lung disease. I have repeatedly purchased the product and also given as a gift too which went down well.

a year ago

This is a refreshing non alcoholic drink for grown ups. It's so nice to have something that you really don't miss the alcohol in and is tasty and not coke or lemonade. My summer go to drink.

a year ago

I’ve had both the ginger and the marmalade switchels. I’ve been ordering since I stopped drinking alcohol and they are amazing for those times I want something more special than tea or squash. They are both full of great ingredients and the ethos of the company making products when the ingredients are in season is important to me. A little goes a long way and I love them with both soda and tonic. They keep well in the fridge and have a zing that is making my mouth water as I’m writing this. Quick response to my orders which were shipped quickly and packaged well.

a year ago

A hero product, utterly hardcore. I am unable (not unwilling!) to drink alcohol and struggle to find anything to replace alcohol: this product is one of the few tools in my drinking armoury. Kind thoughts, Andrew.

a year ago

Absolutely love the Ginger Switchel, I have it with a large lemon slice or 10ml of lemon juice and topped up with sparkling water... Its so refreshing and healthy yum yum 😋

a year ago

Fantastic environmentally-conscious packaging which speaks volumes about the care this brand puts into its product experience. I got both the Ginger and the Marmalade, mixed each with soda water and a slice of lemon - Ginger has a nice bite to it and leaves a satisfying tingle on the lips; the Marmalade has a bitter depth to it which I think will great with tonic water. I saw a review somewhere comparing it to a Campari, which I can confirm. My partner and I are definitely long term brand converts and customers now.

a year ago

Love the ginger switches. Marmalade is nice too but after trying both twice I settled on the ginger as my favourite. I keep taking it to friends’ places to try and they always insist on keeping the bottle. I love that it tastes like a grown up drink that you actually want to have at a party even though it has no alcohol in it. The bitters element works well as an aperitif or a late night stomach settler. Brilliant find that my nutritionist recommended to me.

a year ago

The marmalade switches is a great summer substitute for a negroni when I don't want to drink alcohol, but I want a grown up drink. I shake it with ice and top it up with a low calorie tonic water. Perfect!

a year ago

I’m delighted I found something which can easily compete with my favourite gin cocktail: I used to have Seville orange gin over ice, aromatic tonic, a splash of sparkling water and a good squeeze of fresh orange or grapefruit juice. Now, I replace the gin with this gorgeously bitter marmalade flavour - I genuinely prefer it to the gin version! So glad to have found a decent non-alcoholic alternative, which doesn’t just taste like sugar or a child’s drink. I’ve subscribed for regular deliveries now.

a year ago

This is a tasty alternative, better than squash or fizzy drinks when you’re looking for something to have that isn’t alcohol! It’s so enjoyable you find yourself looking forward to one or two in the evening! I love it!!

a year ago

Just love mother root a great alternative to alcohol

a year ago

I love this product! So much better than any other alcohol-free option that I have tried. It really does replicate a 'real' drinking experience, but without any of the unwanted side effects. I am a complete convert - especially to the Marmalade Switchel, which is wonderful with dry ginger ale as a mixer. The Ginger Switchel works well with tonic, which really surprised me, as I am not usually a tonic drinker! This will definitely not be a one-off purchase - I suspect that I will be a customer for years!!

a year ago

Friends with Mother Root

Love love LOVED the Marmalade Switchel over a blood orange Fever Tree tonic water. I was given this as a gift but currently have the Ginger Switchel in my shopping cart I love it that much. What a Brilliant Buy Women Built brand!

a year ago

A proper grown up drink, whether you drink alcohol or not, I heard about it via someone I follow on Insta and so pleased with it. A great drink with soda and lots of ice, haven't tried the Marmalade one yet - its the next one to order! Good to support independent businesses as well!

a year ago

Have subscribed to this for the past 5 months and it’s been a very positive experience.

Feedback

absolutely love it through the day with ice and sparkling water. Love the fiery ginger, so refreshing and delicious. Absolute go-to. I didn’t get on so well with the marmalade. Probably need to revisit as I have 2 bottles of it!

a year ago

A wonderful alcohol-free alternative from a great company with a personal touch. I've been using Mother Root for a long time now and it is certainly one of the best drink ingredients out there. I don't think of it as "alcohol-free", I think of it as a nice drink regardless! My favourite recipe: Take a high-ball glass, add some ice, 25ml Mother Root Giner Switchel, juice (and bits) from half a lime and top up with soda - delicious! It's a spicy and refreshing long drink. There are lots of other great recipes too.

Feedback

The Mother Root team have always been very responsive to me if I've had questions about offers or delivery. It's been a very nice, personal service. The products are great and the company is a pleasure engage with.

a year ago

Friends with Mother Root

This stuff is so good. Hits the spot flavour wise – Ginger is incredibly moreish – and knowing the apple cider vinegar is doing all sorts of great things for my gut and beyond is a bonus! Tried Marmalade recently and it's very different to Ginger but just as good. I mix mine with tonic and drink it while making dinner.

Feedback

a year ago

This is an absolute game changer for anyone who doesn't drink alcohol or who wants to moderate their intake. I still drink alcohol but love this stuff as an alternative. A proper grown up drink with complex flavours and a real edge. Perfect with tonic as an aperitif or a wind down after work drink. I've been drinking it for a while now and it's my favourite non alcoholic tipple. Worth every penny.