Reviews

    Thinx

    Level 1
    Christina QLevel 1 10 Reviews

    2 years ago

    I have a few pairs of the thong underwear that I got to use as backup for tampons/cup or for days when I was expecting my period and wanted to be prepared. For those specific purposes, I have really loved them. Normal panty liners are obviously more wasteful than these and wearing the thong Thinx is much comfier (esp for work in an office setting) than trying to fit a normal panty liner into thong underwear).

    Feedback

    Can’t speak for the higher absorbency products at all, but would not wear the thongs as stand-alone protection despite the fact that they’re supposed to hold “one tampon’s worth” of liquid.

    Who Gives a Crap

    Level 1
    Christina QLevel 1 10 Reviews

    2 years ago

    Switched to WGAC after using a bamboo toilet paper competitor - ultimately, I appreciated that they are a B Corp, donate a meaningful amount of profit to the charities they support, and make a great bamboo toilet paper! Their subscription management process is excellent - can be done in less than two minutes from your phone- which is good because 48 rolls is a LOT for two people!

    Feedback

    I often find I have to put off our next delivery because our current box lasts so long - kind of a champagne problem that’s not a big deal at all due to how easy subscription management is.

    Reel

    Level 1
    Christina QLevel 1 10 Reviews

    2 years ago

    Started using Reel in 2020 because I wanted to move to more sustainable home products where possible. Wasn’t sure how I would like bamboo, but found this toilet paper to be surprisingly thick, to the point that you can use fewer squares. It isn’t plush/cottony like a lot of paper brands, but it definitely has a smooth feel that doesn’t chafe.

    Feedback

    Ultimately I switched to a competitor for two reasons: price (Reel comes out to roughly $1.30 a roll) and disappointment with the company’s actual impact. Given that they market as a “for good” company, it’s extremely difficult to figure out how much of their $$ actually goes to support sanitation-relates charities. It’s nested deep in their FAQs - $0.50 a box.

    Quince

    Level 1
    Christina QLevel 1 10 Reviews

    2 years ago

    Dorai Home

    Level 1
    Christina QLevel 1 10 Reviews

    2 years ago

    I have the Dorai dish pad and recommend it aggressively to family and friends! It really does dry instantly upon contact with water, and therefore feels much more hygienic than any other type of dish pad / drying rack. The rubber encasing for the stones is thick and grippy enough to handle stacked items without slippage. It also folds up neatly when not in use.

    Feedback

    It took some adjusting to make sure we had it far enough away from the sink to not get damp underneath. If there’s water under the mat, it can’t effectively absorb and dry water the way it’s meant to. Not a big deal to figure out and clear in their instructions that you need it to be in a dry spot. I wish it were a little easier to remove the stones from the silicone, because it can collect dust, but given that this is still cleaner than any other comparable dish mat, it’s worth the hassle to surface clean.

    Prose

    Level 1
    Christina QLevel 1 10 Reviews

    2 years ago

    I have naturally straight, fine but thick hair and have been lucky to not need to invest in particularly expensive hair care for a lot of my life. When I tried to make the switch about 8 years ago to cleaner, more natural formulations, I found that nothing really made my scalp feel clean. I now do not feel my hair is really clean unless I’ve used Prose. Though it doesn’t lather like traditional shampoo, which is normal for a formula without sulfites, you can actually see how it pulls dead skin and whatever else off your scalp when you’re shampooing. One bottle for shampoo and conditioner lasts me for around a year, which is also pretty good value.

    Feedback

    I wish the bottles were aluminum instead of plastic, and despite the fact that you can opt out of receiving new pumps for your bottles when you re-order, I seem to always get sent the pumps too. I wish there was a way to preview the scents before ordering - I’ve been cautious with what scents I pick because I don’t want to get a smell that sounded great but is nauseating in real life.

    Bite

    Level 1
    Christina QLevel 1 10 Reviews

    2 years ago

    It kills me to not be able to rate Bite higher, because I firmly believe the sector they’re trying to make more eco-friendly desperately needs it. From a packaging / waste perspective Bite is a five-star experience and the real deal. The packing is aesthetic and eco-friendly. I tried the floss and the mouthwash bites - the floss took some getting used to because it shreds way more than typical floss does, but once I learned the right tension, I actually liked it way better than normal floss because I felt like it cleaned more effectively (better friction). It’s little glass bottle is also adorable. The mouthwash bites have a nice taste and are super convenient for travel, but they need some work still (see below). Overall, I wasn’t sold enough to rebuy anything.

    Feedback

    The mouthwash bites are sold with a little metal container for throwing a few in your purse - great idea but useless in reality. If you live anywhere even remotely humid, the metal container will fail to protect the bites from moisture and once these get wet, they’re gross. Similarly, if any moisture gets in to the little jar of bites, this spider-web consistency substance takes over the jar (the first time this happened I screamed! 😫). Considering these products are stored in a bathroom where steam is normal, it feels unrealistic to not be able to expose them to any water. Finally, the cancellation process for subscription was a true nightmare. You can’t cancel easily via email, on mobile, or through a browser, you have to live chat someone from their team to cancel for you. Because of this, I actually lost an entire shipment of product because it was sent to an old address before I could successfully touch base with someone to update account info or cancel.

    Fohm

    Level 1
    Christina QLevel 1 10 Reviews

    2 years ago

    Originally bought a Fohm dispenser for my boyfriend as a semi-joke gift during the height of COVID, but the joke is on me because I now can’t imagine my bathroom without this little guy! If you’re someone who likes the *fresh* feeling of a bathroom wipe but hates the wastefulness (or just has a septic system that can’t handle them!) then you need this product. Somehow the Fohm foam magically makes toilet paper into a moist cleaning experience without any of the shredding that water causes in the same application. Have tried it across a bunch of TP types (traditional paper as well as bamboo) and it holds up. We have reordered refills and continue to love it. The scent is nice too - good smelling but not irritating for the sensitive body parts it serves. The charge on the pump also lasts for over a year with light daily use.

    Feedback

    We have the countertop unit and I will say it was confusing to know how to make it work at first - we thought you had to turn on the power button for it to dispense, when it actually just needs to be pushed on and then motion senses. It’s possible that has been changed since I first purchased though.

    Ana Luisa

    Level 1
    Christina QLevel 1 10 Reviews

    2 years ago

    My favorite everyday earrings are from Ana Luisa - their styles feel like the perfect blend of “modern cool girl” and “timeless chic”, but they’re also the real deal in terms of having a reasonable price point and environmentally-focused approach. Despite most of the earrings I own from here not being precious metal they never irritate my ears or degrade on quality. After ordering a bunch of items as gifts over the years, have observed how they’ve continued to adjust packaging to be as minimal as possible, while still including a luxe dust bag for pieces today. They are FAST with shipping too, which is great for gift giving.

    Feedback

    A pair I bought for someone last year broke a few weeks in to them owning the earrings - however, the company was great about exchanging for a new pair that has lasted (and was great about sending to her despite original purchase coming from me), so really still a positive!