Reviews

    Bala

    Level 1
    Sophie WLevel 1 10 Reviews

    3 months ago

    I love that these don't leave you hands calloused the way traditional weights would and they don't take up a lot of room. I have the bars and the bangles. Great for an impulse buy from Target.

    Bangles

    Therabody

    Level 1
    Sophie WLevel 1 10 Reviews

    3 months ago

    I bought the big one -- it's great but I never used it. Even though you are supposed to be able to use it on yourself, I only use it when my back hurts (not every day every where like some athletes I know), and when your back hurts you really just want someone else to do it anyway, and at that point you may as well just break out the massage oil and commit. So I bought myself the mini and l use it way more often. I also love giving this as a gift to people who regularly work out, or who have on-again-off-again back pain like me.

    TheragunTheragun Mini 2

    SHHHOWERCAP

    Level 1
    Sophie WLevel 1 10 Reviews

    3 months ago

    Look, their website is a mess. I think they were taken over by Shopify and it went very poorly. But if you ever do get your order you will never go back. I tried one and immediately ordered one for all of our houses and an extra one for travel. 10/10.

    Shhhowercap

    Arc'teryx

    Level 1
    Sophie WLevel 1 10 Reviews

    3 months ago

    Me and my family only buy Arc'teryx Gortex products for shells and ski pants. It's the top of the line, without being gaudy when you are on the mountain. It's the only brand I would trust for a really technical outing and extreme conditions, but I also wear my fleece from here year round and it has held up better than my one from Patagonia. I also feel my down jacket from here is slightly more flattering than my ones from Patagonia. I've also purchased their detergent for washing my down jacket from them, and it worked great. I will admit though that I will continue to buy Patagonia (a.k.a. Pata-Gucci) because even though it has come to be associated with Finance and Tech "Bros," Patagonia seems to care more for the environment and humanity -- which matters to me.

    Gortex shellSki pantsDown hooded jacket

    Away

    Level 1
    Sophie WLevel 1 10 Reviews

    3 months ago

    I bought two Away suitcases after getting frustrated with my aluminum Rimowa suitcases being dented and damaged after each flight. (I still use my Rimowa carry-on though because I actually use it as a seat if there are lines at customs or no open seats waiting to board the plane.) Given how much cheaper my Away suitcases were, as well as their comparable performance (in terms of wheels, zippers, handles, and capacity etc.) I feel really good about the trade. I also feel much safer using them when traveling internationally somewhere where opulent displays of wealth would be as unwise as they are unnecessary.

    mediumlarge

    Hanna Andersson

    Level 1
    Sophie WLevel 1 10 Reviews

    3 months ago

    Hanna Andersson has been a family favorite because the high quality cotton unisex basics make for great hand-me-downs (negating their higher price point relative to Cat & Jack etc. ) and the matching family pajamas come in the best prints. These items wear and wash well. But the patterned fabrics when stretched don't look great, so sizing up is sometimes the safer option.

    pajamasClothes

    Veja

    Level 1
    Sophie WLevel 1 10 Reviews

    3 months ago

    I bought a pair of Veja sneakers a few years ago because I wanted to try velcro (as opposed to lace-up) sneakers as an adult and needed another pair of white sneakers anyway. A trendy mom at the school where I worked had also recommended both their adult and kids shoes to me. Given my job as preschool teacher, I am on my feet all day, so comfort is a high priority, but wearing Hoka's and other such brands to work felt unprofessional and made outfits harder to transition from day to night. The sneakers I got were comfortable. They ran fairly true to size (I wear a 6.5/7 and bought a size 7). Critically they didn't take long to break in. They still looked good with wear and tear. I ended up not loving the velcro style, but intend to buy another style because I liked the product and the ethos of the brand.

    RECIFE CHROMEFREE WHITE PIERRE NATURAL

    Dirty Labs

    Level 1
    Sophie WLevel 1 10 Reviews

    3 months ago

    I have sensitive skin/allergies so I started using Dirty Labs fragrance free laundry detergent because I loved that it was: cruelty free, BPA free, and recyclable. The reusable cap size also helped me find out I was using too much detergent before. Leaves even my stinky workout clothes that have to be washed on cold smelling clean after.

    Bio Enzyme Laundry Detergent

    Liquid Death

    Level 1
    Sophie WLevel 1 10 Reviews

    2 years ago

    I love everything about these waters. I have tried every flavor I could find -- lime is my favorite. BPA free cans. Better for you. Better for the environment. Hilarious/awesome packaging. Great conversation starter. I have gifted a few cans to just about everyone at my work place by now so no one thinks I'm drinking on the job... and also to inflate demand at my local grocery store to make sure we keep them in stock lol

    Feedback

    I accidentally froze a few cans and the lid exploded clean off -- made for delicious icy. Perhaps if there is an environmental way to do it an freeze pop version would be fun to add to the mix over summer

    Thinx

    Level 1
    Sophie WLevel 1 10 Reviews

    2 years ago

    I loved these except for the fact that they were overpriced... until I found out they were made with chemicals (PFAS) that can cause infertility in women -- literally known as "forever chemicals." I would like my money back.

    Feedback

    Remove all PFAS from product and reimburse all purchases from when the product contained harmful chemicals