Reviews

    Vacation

    Level 4
    Kathleen SLevel 4 34 Reviews

    7 months ago

    Received a free product from Vacation

    Vacation makes sunscreen so fun! I love whipping out (lol) the Classic Whip SPF at the beach. The Classic Lotion is fine—smells great and gets the job done. I wouldn't recommend the SPF 30 Baby Oil. It's so hard to gauge whether you're putting enough (you probably aren't) to get the required sun protection. It's hard to be mad at their branding and the way the company started. But I also couldn't help but think: These people are selling joke products that you would find at a novelty gift shop and are charging a premium for it. Genius? Sure. But will I repurchase? Probably not. I had fun, though!

    Youthforia

    Level 4
    Kathleen SLevel 4 34 Reviews

    7 months ago

    I've been testing out the primer from the brand Youthforia. I know them as the company that creates makeup you can sleep in, but I found other cool things about the company: - On their packaging, they claim that they "care about Down the Drain Impact." - Their products are certified USDA BioPreferred, which means that at least 25% of their ingredients that emit carbon come from renewable sources (ie. not fossil fuels). - They claim to be leaders in bio-based beauty, meaning all of their ingredients are completely plant-based — even the synthetics. - They follow the Green Chemistry principles, which outline a guide to promote greener chemicals, processes, and products. This means they are formulating with at least 90% naturally derived (instead of fossil fuels) All of these things are great and I would love to see more beauty companies follow their lead. But in terms of the products, I feel like they try to be too many things at once. You can use the primer to "slug" (to seal in your skincare and prevent moisture loss) or to keep makeup in place, but I find that the product achieves neither. I prefer a thicker ointment (like Futurewise or Aquaphor) to slug and my makeup looks patchy by midday. I tested the blush oil on my hand. It's fine for a natural makeup girlie, but this brand was created for people who want to go out all night and not wash their face when they get home in the wee hours of the morning. I'm guessing those people aren't looking to create that no makeup-makeup look when they're planning to rage. So who are these products actually for? I'm also not in support of people not washing their faces. (Not to mention, their testing can't be statistically significant just because the founder sleeps in her products and doesn't wake up with a pimple. So misleading.) So I love what this company is trying to accomplish, but I took two stars off because they're trying to do too many things and it's reflecting in the products they're putting out. Also, their products are expensive considering you're not getting the performance you expect from a conventional makeup brand. Make your products multifunctional, clean, etc., but they should be held to the same standards as conventional makeup brands in terms of performance.

    Hair Story

    Level 4
    Kathleen SLevel 4 34 Reviews

    8 months ago

    Did co-washing products have exist before Hair Story? I can’t answer that, but I will credit them with helping to bring co-washes to the mainstream. Almost every hair care brand offers co wash now that it’s hard to justify Hair Story’s price points. I can’t say that I’ve continued to patronize the brand now that I can easily find co washes at Target and drug stores. I will say the difference is that Hair Story’s co washes are thicker and more buttery. Do they work better? I wouldn’t say that. But if that is your preference, the mass hair care brands don’t compare (they’re thinner and little runnier, kind of like regular conditioner). Are most co washes basically hair conditioner? Again, can’t answer that. All I will say is, co washes are a non negotiable part of my hair washing routine. I do have the scalp massager from Hair Story still that I got as a GWP. You can find a similar one elsewhere, but the thick, silicone bristles are perfect for massaging the scalp without causing tangles. Gentler on hair too.

    Typology

    Level 4
    Kathleen SLevel 4 34 Reviews

    8 months ago

    I’ve tried quite a few things from this brand. I love the branding and that it’s French. Great price points as well. But my experience with the products I’ve tried have been so-so. Tinted Serum with Vitamin C, Squalane & Aloe Vera and Tinted Concealer - limited shade range. What I got was too dark for my skin, but the next shade over would have been too light. They don’t accept returns or exchanges, which is pretty shitty, especially for color complexion products. The products themselves were fine, but plenty of other similar ones out there with a better shade range and similar price points that you can probably test in person at a store first. Eyebrow & Eyelash Serum with 2% Pea Peptides + Castor Oil - poorly packaged. The formula itself is pretty thick and the spoolie can’t seem to pick it up properly. It’s in a glass bottle instead of a tube, so I don’t know how you’re supposed to finish the formula inside when it’s so thick, it clings to the sides of the bottle? The spoolie itself is pretty scratchy. If the formula clung to it properly, it would cushion as you’re applying on lashes and brows, but it doesn’t. It’s just not pleasant to use that I haven’t used regularly enough to see results. Eye Serum with 5% Caffeine + 5% Niacinamide - been using this pretty regularly in the morning and I don’t see any difference with my dark circles. It also doesn’t really hydrate my eye area, so I’m better off using an eye cream. Self-Tanning Serum with 10% DHA + carob pulp extract - this actually works! Maybe a little too well. Follow the prescribed amount or risk looking super tan and orange-y (depending on your natural skin color). The tan lasts for days before wearing off. Can be mixed with your moisturizer as well. I recommend! Tinted Lip Oil in Shade 4 Coral Orange - it’s a pretty shade, but not everyone can pull off (which is fine! They have other shades). The lip oil itself is pretty thin. It barely coats the doe foot, so you have to keep reapplying to get the amount you want. Because the formula is thin, the color payoff isn’t great. But I wouldn’t expect a lot of pigmentation from this type of product anyway. Weekend Pouch - this was free with purchase! I actually really like it. Looks very chic. Has lived in my bag ever since I got it. Reusable Makeup Removal Rounds | 8 Bamboo Pads + Pouch - also free because I bought so much lol I haven’t tried these because I don’t want to wash them, but I like the concept. The pouch it comes in might be good for traveling with makeup brushes, but it’s pretty awkward otherwise and not very functional.

    White Flower

    Level 4
    Kathleen SLevel 4 34 Reviews

    8 months ago

    So wild to see this stuff here. It’s been around forever. If you have car sickness or altitude sickness or feeling any kind of nausea, place a few drops on a piece of cloth and inhale. The scent is very strong and menthol-y, so just be prepared. If you have any aches or body pains, rubbing a small amount on the area may help to alleviate it.

    Rael

    Level 4
    Kathleen SLevel 4 34 Reviews

    8 months ago

    I haven’t tried their period products, but they do have really affordable micro needle patches that use a lot less packaging in comparison to competitors like Zitsticka. It may take two consecutive nights to see results, but they really do help to squelch an incoming pimple (especially those big, under-the-surface hormonal ones). You can buy them at Target or use your HSA dollars to buy them, which is really cool!

    cocokind

    Level 4
    Kathleen SLevel 4 34 Reviews

    8 months ago

    I’ve only tried a few things. The powdered Ultra Chlorophyll Mask is mixed with water and then spread on your face with some difficulty. It’s really grainy and literally feels like something you could buy at a health store (which is the point, maybe?), but it would probably be cheaper to just buy chlorophyll powder and mix that with water. Not that I would. The tiny jar literally lasts forever. The mask itself is hard to wash off and kind of abrasive on the skin as you’re doing it. My skin doesn’t look particularly smooth or glowy after. The Matcha All Over Moisture Stick was fun at first. You can use on your lips or wherever you have dry patches. But if you have dry flaky lips, they’ll turn green if you put this on. I’m super careful when applying and making sure I don’t put too much and blend it out, so I don’t have Shrek lips. And then the stick itself. It has coconut oil, so if the weather fluctuates where you are, the coconut oil will melt and solidify, leaving you with a lumpy stick (kind of like if Shrek had warts). This is strictly my home lip balm because it’s too gross to whip out in public. A shame because it actually is moisturizing and costs lips for a long time. And I love matcha (though others may be turned off by the smell). Daily SPF mineral is just…I don’t think so honey. It’s everything you don’t want in an spf. Thick, white, pasty, difficult to spread, leaves a white cast, hard to blend out in your eyebrows. Just, no. I’m sure there are other great products in the brand. And I love that it’s an AAPI-owned brand. But I just haven’t had great experiences with what I’ve tried.

    Hero Cosmetics

    Level 4
    Kathleen SLevel 4 34 Reviews

    8 months ago

    I’ve tried their micro needle patches and regular patches. The regular patches are nothing special (my go-to for those are CosRx). If you want pimple patches with fun designs (like Starface), this isn’t the brand. I haven’t tried the other patches, but now that I have an FSA account, I probably will (yes, they’re available at the FSA store, which is pretty cool!).

    Liquid Death

    Level 4
    Kathleen SLevel 4 34 Reviews

    8 months ago

    I mean, it’s water with cool branding? Literally just that. On one hand, I like not having micro plastics leech into my water (all bottled water does). And I guess aluminum is more sustainable than plastic, but you do need to mine some materials to make aluminum. Carrying around a tall boy of water at a bar or something looks a lot less lame than carrying around a heavy glass from the bar tender, but the latter is free. I don’t know, it really depends on your priorities, I guess.

    Magnolia Bakery

    Level 4
    Kathleen SLevel 4 34 Reviews

    8 months ago

    Banana pudding is the GOAT here! I don’t even like banana-flavored desserts, but I always get this for my partner whenever I’m near a Magnolia and I always end up eating half the pint. Their chocolate cake is also pretty good (and it’s really hard to find good chocolate cake with no bells and whistles in New York, for some reason). If you’re visiting the city, line up. It goes quickly anyway. The hype is valid!