Reviews

    Taika

    Level 2
    Taylor SLevel 2 15 Reviews

    8 months ago

    Received a free product from Taika

    I received one can of Taika for free via Thingdrop (macadamia latte). I tried it chilled with a friend and we really enjoyed it. The taste is pleasant (which we weren't expecting upon seeing that it's sugar-free), very milky and sweet. Definitely the same category of drink as a Starbucks Macchiato. I liked the strong macadamia flavor. Unfortunately I can't speak to how it compares with normal coffee (the adaptogen / productivity angle), I don't know how to measure that, although anecdotally I did feel energetic after drinking it (though not as much as I would after coffee) and didn't get a harsh caffeine crash like I would after a coffee. I would buy this with my own money instead of the Starbucks Macchiato, which is usually my go-to.

    Cadence

    Level 2
    Taylor SLevel 2 15 Reviews

    a year ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    Product is exactly as described - cute, flexible, and well-made. I appreciated how nice the packaging was (sturdy box, cute designs, several little cards). I'm excited to use these on a trip I have coming up, especially items I've been nervous about bringing on trips before (like sunscreen, makeup, jewelry)!

    Feedback

    I've had my eye on Cadence for awhile but wouldn't have bought them (and probably wouldn't repurchase them) at full price, at least not for myself -- they're over $10 a container and for the volume and frequency of use, it's too much. Would make a great present for someone who likes traveling though.

    Big Bud Press

    Level 2
    Taylor SLevel 2 15 Reviews

    a year ago

    Sale or special offer

    I have visited their in-person storefront in NYC and taken part in their recent sample sale. Big Bud Press releases primarily workwear basics with bright, fun colors and comfort in mind. They do frequent drops of new and interesting patterns, some of which are hand-painted! Overall I really love Big Bud Press as a brand, especially for basics like turtlenecks and shorts. Their clothing is comfortable, made out of good materials (ex. 100% cotton), and easy to pair with other items.

    Feedback

    Sometimes the fit on their clothing can be a little off (baggy shoulders for tight shirts, also their underwear line) but it hasn't been too bad for me. Just something to be aware of, it's helpful to try on their items in-store or make sure you can return if it doesn't fit quite right.

    Starface

    Level 2
    Taylor SLevel 2 15 Reviews

    2 years ago

    Bought the normal-sized case and a few packs of yellow / pride stars! I like wearing these over blemishes to stop myself from picking at them. They are very expensive for what they are, you are paying for looks!

    Feedback

    I like the little carrying case and feel good while wearing these - it does incentivize me to take care of my skin and not pick at blemishes. However I don't think these do anything to reduce or heal my pimples. They're mostly to feel good and helped me to build the habit of not picking. I don't regret trying these but also wouldn't repurchase them.

    July

    Level 2
    Taylor SLevel 2 15 Reviews

    2 years ago

    I purchased a Checked and Carry On Light as part of a discounted pack - I originally only purchased the Carry On Light and customer service allowed me to add on a discounted Checked after the fact. The suitcases shipped fast from Australia to NYC and were packaged nicely with duster bags. I appreciate the little details (reinforced corners, laundry bags, locks, etc) and the hard yet flexible shell cover. I made this purchase for the Carry On Light because I usually don't pack much for short trips and struggle to lift carry-on luggage into the overhead bins by myself. I added on the Checked so that my bags would all match.

    Feedback

    Was it necessary? No. Was it expensive? Yes. But the quality is good and I value having matching items, so I appreciate my travel feeling luxurious now even if I'm still flying economy. :) The Carry On Light changed traveling for me because it's easy to lift and very lightweight - it feels a little rickety at times because of how light it is but I've beaten it up and dragged it over cobblestone and there hasn't been any damage or warping. Definitely a luxury purchase with the Carry On Light holding most of the value for me.

    BAGGU

    Level 2
    Taylor SLevel 2 15 Reviews

    2 years ago

    My mom has gifted me 3-4 Baggus of varying sizes over the years and they are all great. She has evangelized Baggu within our friends and family circles. The patterns are fun and I love the Baggu vault designs! I also have a collapsible Baggu sun hat that flattens into a disc.

    Feedback

    I have a Baggu collapsible for every occasion. I've used them as beach totes, grocery bags, bottle holders, etc. They're very compact, sustainable, and cute. It's convenient that they all come with their own pouches. There's no reason not to use them given how multi-purpose they are, and they make gifts. I've had mine for years and there has been no wear whatsoever.

    Homesick

    Level 2
    Taylor SLevel 2 15 Reviews

    2 years ago

    I've ordered or been gifted several candles and reed diffusers from here (Winter Mantle, Ski Resort, Seattle, San Francisco, Beach Cottage, The Nutcracker). The packaging is clean and each candle can be used as an iced coffee cup (they're the same glass vessels as what many coffee shops use for iced lattes). The scents aren't strong but have good throw so make wonderful background scents to set an atmosphere.

    Feedback

    This is my favorite candle brand because the candles smell great - at least the ones I've had, they have a huge selection so I'm sure some are misses - and are subtle in a way that sets a mood but doesn't cause nose fatigue or stir up headaches. I did buy most of these when Homesick sold at their cheaper prices (candles are $38 each now) so I would recommend buying on sale or in bulk. The candles last for a long time, especially if they're on rotation, and I've never had major issues with tunneling (which can be fixed with some tin foil anyway). On the whole these are pricier but I especially love the Christmas / holiday scents and have amassed a solid cup collection for a home coffee bar, so it's two-in-one!

    Burrow

    Level 2
    Taylor SLevel 2 15 Reviews

    2 years ago

    I bought a two-seater couch with the ottoman add-on for my small one-bedroom apartment. We got the couch in a cream color with light wood legs. It was shipped neatly in compact boxes that fit easily through our tight entryway (one of the reasons we opted for Burrow) and was quick to assemble.

    Feedback

    I like the concept of modular couches and this brand worked amazing for us due to our living constraints - we only have 3.5 feet of clearance in our entryway and traditional couches would not have fit. The modular Burrow system allowed us to assemble a much bigger couch than the space would have otherwise allowed (if it allowed a couch at all). We do have a pet and the fabric type we got has held up well and is easily cleaned if stains or marks come up. However, due to the modular aspect, the couch feels slightly rickety (as everything is joined together rather than adhering to a single frame). The stability feels closer to a futon than a couch because the intention is to be light and modular rather than luxurious. If we had a different apartment I would have opted for a traditional couch, but I would recommend this brand for anyone in a similar situation that would benefit from modularity and flexible rearrangements.

    Sculpd

    Level 2
    Taylor SLevel 2 15 Reviews

    2 years ago

    I bought this product as a Christmas present for my housemate during the pandemic - we cozied up in our kitchen together and made ceramics! The kit came with everything we needed to hand build and shape several small pieces of art. I also bought one of the acrylic paint kits to give us decorating optionality.

    Feedback

    I love the idea of an at-home pottery kit, since I love wheel throwing but it's inaccessible unless you have a studio nearby. This was a great way to bring a friend into the ceramics art world and create a memory together, something I never would have thought of doing from my home! The kit was pricey but worth it, and I think a reasonable cost for assembling everything and sourcing the clay. My only complaint is that the acrylic paint we got is low-quality and sheer, so we ended up not using the paint kit. I wouldn't rebuy the paints but would gift this again in a heartbeat and love the option to purchase clay by itself if you already have the supplies.

    Overtone

    Level 2
    Taylor SLevel 2 15 Reviews

    2 years ago

    I bought the Purple for Brown Hair set (hair mask, daily conditioner, travel conditioner) and had an underwhelming experience. It didn't show up at all on my (admittedly very dark) brown hair but was a very beautiful red-based purple color after I bleached my hair to platinum (of course at that point my hair wasn't brown). The hair mask was hydrating and deposited color nicely but the conditioner was underwhelming, almost drying, and I'm not sure how well it kept my color.

    Feedback

    I liked the purple on my bleached hair but found the hair mask and conditioner very difficult to use - they stained EVERYTHING (my tub, my hands, my clothing) and can only be washed out with very hot water, so I was always scared of staining items that couldn't be thrown in the wash. It bled lightly onto fabric whenever my hair was wet (think after a shower, after the rain, etc...) so overall a lot of maintenance compared to a normal non-conditioner dye process. I wouldn't purchase again.