Reviews

    Altruist

    Level 1
    Nicola BLevel 1 8 Reviews

    9 months ago

    What this brand lacks in fancy packaging it makes up for with its low cost high quality sun-care products, its mission to reduce skin cancer and its charity work with kids with albinism in Africa. The spf 50 face fluid lotion was recommended to me by a dermatologist. It wasn’t then a surprise to find out that Altruist was founded in the UK by a Consultant Dermatologist and skin cancer surgeon. I’ve been using it for several weeks now, and it’s working a treat. I appear to be allergic to certain suncreams, although I’ve not yet discovered the specific cause. I’m happy to say this resulted in no horrid reaction, and I’ve since bought more cream to use on my body. Coral friendly, hypoallergenic, non-comedogenic, fragrance and paraben free, and water resistant. It ticks all the boxes.

    Havaianas

    Level 1
    Nicola BLevel 1 8 Reviews

    9 months ago

    I have a pair of the Luna style, which come with a sling back. I particularly like this style as I hate feeling like my flip-flops are going to come off. These are by far the most comfortable flat soled flip-flops I’ve ever had, and they have lasted well in direct sun. Why not 5 stars? Well, the fact they’re flat means my feet are less supported around the arches and after a while I start to feel the impact. If they did a version with arch support, they’d be perfection!

    Loop Earplugs

    Level 1
    Nicola BLevel 1 8 Reviews

    9 months ago

    I have a pair of the quiet ear plugs, as I’m a light sleeper and my husband snores. They’re pretty good at blocking out the noise; about as effective as wax earplugs but with the bonus of being more durable. I’m a side sleeper and although it’s still possible, I tend to wake up after a few hours as it’s uncomfortable. The ear plugs come with different sized tips but so far this hasn’t made a difference. However, I have never found a pair of ear plugs that stay comfortable after a few hours, so it’s entirely possible I have weird shaped inner ears.

    Hydroflask

    Level 1
    Nicola BLevel 1 8 Reviews

    9 months ago

    I'm a bit clumsy, which means things like water bottles get knocked round more than average. I've had my Hydroflask for a year now. It's a 21 oz (621 ml) Standard Mouth Bottle. It's still as good as ever and, critically, hasn't leaked once. It holds hot or cold liquids if you choose the mouth opening (basically just the screw top and the bottle) and you can choose from a wide mouth or standard mouth opening diameter. The standard mouth is plenty big enough for me personally to drink from if I want to hydrate quickly. If you're not planning to use it for hot liquids, you can also choose a bottle with straw cap, or buy the straw cap separately if you change your mind later. Beware that the 'Insulated Sport Cap' isn't leak-proof. I'm not sure when you'd use this over the Flex Straw Cap, which is leak proof when closed. All in, this does the job and the added bonus if you can put the bottle and the lid in the dishwasher. Perfect.

    The Lab Co.

    Level 1
    Nicola BLevel 1 8 Reviews

    9 months ago

    This is a British laundry and shoe care brand that uses natural, plant-derived and biodegradable ingredients, which include detergents, laundry strips (which I'll come to), conditioners, fabrics sprays and shoe care items. The laundry strips are concentrated strips of paper-like strips that you put in the drum or drawer. They're perforated so you can you half a strip for a light load or hand wash. It's a neat approach to avoiding messy dispensing of liquids. They worked well on my clothes and the smell was great. I've also used the 'delicates' detergent. It also works fine. Ethical, no nasties, good quality - all good so far. My mild issue is the lid on the detergent, which is a squeezy nozzle style with a flip lid, but the instructions are to use "1-2 capfuls (10-20mls)". Sure, you can remove the lid and use it to measure it but you then get the time old issue of liquid running down the side of the bottle. In reality, I end up using the nozzle and just guessing, which I suspect means I use more than I should, and this is not a cheap brand. It feels like an odd thing to get irked by, but the fact they make a range of products (laundry strips) to avoid just that means they get it, so it's an odd choice of design to make.

    Cards Against Humanity

    Level 1
    Nicola BLevel 1 8 Reviews

    10 months ago

    Cards Against Humanity is a game where each participant fills in the blank(s) of a statement with a word or phrase on cards that have been handed out. Some of the phrases are pretty anodyne, while others are outrageous, tasteless or rude. The use of either in the right (or wrong!) context is where it gets interesting and fun. I wouldn't say this was a game for all the family but that depends on the relationship you have with them. If they're easily shocked or prudish, it just doesn't work. After a while you get to know the better cards, so expansion packs are necessary. Make sure you get ones that are geared to your country as there are lots of cultural references that otherwise wouldn't be understood.

    Tony's Chocolonely

    Level 1
    Nicola BLevel 1 8 Reviews

    10 months ago

    Tony's Chocoloney is sold in supermarkets in the UK, so it's a really accessible brand. My partner's name is Tony, so we get these as little gifts from time to time and we're always very grateful! They come in a wide range of flavours in white and milk chocolate plus vegan options. They also regularly release limited editions - the milk pecan caramel crunch 32% went down a treat. I'd give this more of a 4.5 stars because although they also do a 70% dark chocolate I haven't so far seen any creatively flavoured dark chocolate bars, and I'm a fan of a fruity dark chocolate, which I miss from their range. Their ethical credentials appear good, so I've rounded the score up, rather than down :))

    ROKA London

    Level 1
    Nicola BLevel 1 8 Reviews

    10 months ago

    I bought a Bantry bag several years ago - it's a classic and simple design but I get complements on it even now. They have a great range of colours in this design and others. It's comfortable to wear, even when it's packed to the brim. The zip is chunky and smooth to use and the nylon fabric is recycled and water repellent. It's lasted very well but I'd have no hesitation to buy another. The size I bought (medium) is just right for 1-2 nights, if you pack light. Go for large if you don't.