Reviews

    Axel Arigato

    Level 3
    J SLevel 3 11 Reviews

    2 years ago

    Initially, good quality leather, simple look/design and very high price point. After use, I discovered that the footbed is so rigid and hard - very uncomfortable and the leather did not soften after wear. I ended up with cuts/blisters after a big day of wearing the shoes, I'd rather wear Vejas or Vans. This isn't it.

    Feedback

    Price point and uncomfortable wear (hard bottom, stiff outer).

    Kester Black

    Level 3
    J SLevel 3 11 Reviews

    2 years ago

    Although I love the brand ethos, I never quite noticed changes in my nail health or overall nail application experience (the "no nasties" advertisement point). The nail oil and cuticle mask is nice - but I wouldn't repurchase due to the price point and other products half it's price could work the same. On that note, I have been using both products forever and have lots more to go. The nail oil is what you expect - a nice hydrating oil, but the packaging is so clean and luxe, definitely a nice experience and Insta pic. The cuticle mask is a bit meh - doesn't do a whole lot that any other nail/hand mask or just a thick hand cream can easily replicate. The nail colours are pretty (I bought nearly 1/3 of the range back when I was obsessed with their pretty aesthetic) but the product chips/lifts very quickly and doesn't assist to help strengthen nails. There was also the water-based nail remover which was pretty cool, it's like oil based and feels very hydrating (and oily) afterwards. I didn't have a negative experience with the products but it wasn't exceptional. Plus, now I get my nails done by a private nail tech using soft gel and builder gel - so I get pretty, long lasting colours, neatly applied (that part's on me, not Kester Black), that assist to help grow my nails nice and strong.

    Feedback

    Price point for sure - I understand the pretty aesthetic, breathable formula, etc. that the brand sells but underneath the fancy schmancy words, it's just really average nail polish.

    Yellow Beauty

    Level 3
    J SLevel 3 11 Reviews

    2 years ago

    I used this brand when it first came out (YLLO was the name, it was a Kickstarter business) and tested the Tumeric Scrub and Face Mask in the original brown bag packaging. It felt nice, the formula was gentle on my body and my face but the issue was the actual residue that did not go away. It was advertised with a slight caution that the product may stain, but after a good wash the colour would disappear... It did not. My face was stained a visible yellow tint and so were parts on my body. After scrubbing off with a facial cloth and loofa (which contributed to much more of the exfoliation than the products did) there were still very apparent tints of yellow on my skin. However, the trouble continued when I went to bed and woke up with obvious slight-yellow tints on my sheets, then same pattern throughout the week when I wore white/light coloured shirts. The actual product, aside from staining issues, was pretty plain to me (much like a normal gentle mask/scrub duo). Also want to note that I also tested the turmeric face oil which left a slight yellow tint (significantly less than the scrub) on my skin but had no issues in being transferred onto light coloured materials. That being said, after the trauma from the scrub, I only used it sparingly and at night time - washed off in the morning. **Added a photo showing screenshot of their past email newsletter as proof for my obscure review**

    Feedback

    I hope that their formula have since improved from my experience with the brand in it's early stages. I do like the concept of using turmeric powered skincare but the staining is the big issue.

    Fluff

    Level 3
    J SLevel 3 11 Reviews

    2 years ago

    I enjoyed the products, the brand ethos & the values. They’re ground breaking for the industry standard they’re defying - though I’ve noticed more brands jumping on this train, Fluff is one of the pioneers. Their bronzer is quite nice, the colours compliment a variety of different skintones, however I see that they’ve expanded to cater for deeper skintones with really well-thought out colour choices. Their rose water mist + oils were also great experiences for me, worked to hydrate and calm my skin.

    Feedback

    I had trouble with using their soild lip oil (consistency was too oily, had too much slip and didn’t sit well) and milky cleanser (was too oily again, didn’t wash out easily - also struggled to remove makeup as it was advertised). They’re currently reducing their sales periods and only opening shop at short periods of time. I’d love to see new products develop but their recent hoodie collaboration seemed crazy overpriced — not so much for the quality and value, but I’m not sure if their main target audience of teen/young adult/20s-ish can afford a $200 hoodie to support their favourite brand.

    Everyday Humans

    Level 3
    J SLevel 3 11 Reviews

    2 years ago

    Love their products, their sunscreen (face and body) feels like a hydrating serum but is so effective - their aftersun mist smells so yummy and quenches my skin during a hot day. I know experts tell you to wear sunscreen everyday and I never could because they were so uncomfortable, but with EverydayHumans, I can!1

    Feedback

    I recently discovered that I can no longer shop from their website and have to access Sephora Australia to get the goods, problem is - they never seem to be in stock anymore :(

    Who Gives a Crap

    Level 3
    J SLevel 3 11 Reviews

    2 years ago

    Although not being a direct buyer of the product myself (only due to not currently being the primary grocery shopper of my household), I have used their products during stays at boutiques, other households and studios. I am informed about the purpose of their brand and mission - I think it's very effective and innovative for the company to have produced these items for consumer use. Given the opportunity to decide my own shopping for a household, I would be a subscriber of their products.

    Feedback

    I believe from memory the price point seemed unfriendly to me (being too expensive than what I would normally value toilet paper for) but it may have changed now. If it hasn't, that would be the only improvement.

    The Ordinary

    Level 3
    J SLevel 3 11 Reviews

    2 years ago

    It's a good start for those who are wanting to look deeper into the skincare products they buy (e.g. discovering ingredients that you want to implement into your skincare routine) but I think their competitor Paula's Choice offer more effective results with similar ingredients. However, the pricing for The Ordinary is so budget-friendly, it's a good stepping stone to better skincare, but a stepping stone nonetheless.

    Feedback

    Providing more information about the results of their products, I might be sucked into Paula's marketing gimmicks but I can't help but feel like they are more effective than The Ordinary products.

    Sheertex

    Level 3
    J SLevel 3 11 Reviews

    2 years ago

    Like most (probably), I was sceptical of the product due to its price point being significantly higher than what I would place for monetary value on stockings. However, I was proven wrong with its outstanding quality and promise delivery. I have had my dog jump on my stockings, wash the stockings without a laundry bag (wild, I know), had jewellery snag into them (no running threads??? it simply had a spot of fabric that lifted a little and after stretching that area it disappeared) and even got them caught on wooden furniture (splinter proof!). I purchased x2 to begin with as I never wore stockings enough but now I'm waiting for the next sale to get myself a couple more pairs (I wear them much, much, much more than I thought I would they always get in the wash). I have never experienced such a life-changing product like it before, I also appreciate the 'classic' style having a slight shape wear (double fabric layer) area for the top waist/stomach area, it smooths me and helps me feel more confident when wearing particular skirts.

    Feedback

    The only improvements I would suggest is to have that front and back seam of the top stockings (the shape wear bit) become more seamless as I can see a line going down my front torso when wearing tight/sheer skirts. Additionally, although I have read they have halted this production due to creating waste, I would love to see the nude colour tights come back - and then life would be absolutely perfect.

    Glossier

    Level 3
    J SLevel 3 11 Reviews

    2 years ago

    First and foremost - I did enjoy using the products but they're very much a skincare-makeup brand, in the sense that the products just make you feel good and don't do a whole lot in terms of the actual functionality of makeup products. Having dry and sensitive skin, the skin tint/concealer/powder/blush/highlighter/lipbalm/lip tint worked very well - I actually think the concealer and blush are the only products that work efficiently, the others have results that can easily be replicated using other brand products. I haven't dabbled too much into their skincare/perfume range but from testing in-store when I visited their NYC boutique, I was disappointed as it felt very overhyped. I think if it were more accessible (e.g. Shipping to other major countries like Australia or UK) then it would make sense for the reputation to be as high as it is, but it's marketed to be so exclusive yet the products are really not that extraordinary.

    Feedback

    I would suggest to stop organising promotions and events within USA and start offering shipping overseas, then once the audience limitation is lifted I'm certain that they will be able to gain more capital to continue opening pop-up stores and collaborate with celebrity figures. It's not the worst makeup brand but the products are just not worth the extreme hype. 50/50, being so famous from the Internet - I wouldn't *not* recommend people to try it, it is a good experience after all, however it's not worth like paying a re-shipping/parcel forwarding company for it.

    Aesop

    Level 3
    J SLevel 3 11 Reviews

    2 years ago

    Love their products, brand ethos and the wonderful shopping experience (in-store boutique, website navigation, customer service, etc.) - I always recommend their products to my friends and family. I've had a good test of all product varieties from the deodorant, perfume, body care, haircare to skincare. The only ones I have yet to test is performance of body wash/hand wash items (although I hear only good things about them from those who have used them before) and their teeth care products. I find the scents really unique and beautiful, the formulation of products are so well made and work as described. No issues at all - except maybe the price point (however it is expected to may that cost for what they are, also compared to competitor items). Their brand is absolutely amazing, the company values, community engagement, everything. Such a good business.

    Feedback

    No changes really, maybe seeing more gift sets/travel sizes to gift for others on a budget cost.