Reviews

    Silk and Snow

    Level 3
    Kayla MLevel 3 15 Reviews

    3 months ago

    LETS TALK ABOUT SILK AND SNOW. I have many thoughts on this brand, and sadly, I have very little that is positive to say. This is another brand that originated in Toronto and I really wanted to love, but was incredibly disappointed with the quality of their products, their customer service and shopping experience. Brand has great marketing - whoever runs your marketing department, 5 stars, give that lady a raise. I was incredibly disappointed with the quality of the products I received. I'll start by saying, I purchased an entirely new set of bedding/sheets/pillows, the whole nine yards, from Silk and Snow last year in July for my birthday. I waited a year and a half to write this review to confirm their products are indeed horrible, and that I wasn't just being salty given how disappointed I was with my experience, but the products have continued to deteriorate the longer I own them. I ordered their linen bedding set - fitted sheet, duvet cover, two pillow cases and two extra large pillow cases, as well as 2 pillows, 2 large pillows, a mattress protector, and an all-season duvet from Silk and Snow. Whenever I wash the bedding, I cannot explain how much lint and dust ends up all over my condo. I'm talking, I have to vacuum both my duvet, and the entire condo 3-4 times during the wash / dry / re add to my bed process, and the lint completely fills the vaccume every time. I'm honestly surprised that I have any bedding left based on how much lint comes off into the air and into the dryer. The photo I've attached was taken after ONE YEAR of washing the bedding once per week/once every two weeks. I reached out to Silk and Snow almost immediately after purchasing the bedding when I noticed this and was told that this is normal, and it should stop shedding after a couple of washes. ABSOLUTELY untrue lolol. Secondly, after only a year and a half of use, the pillow cases are starting to come apart at the seams, and the large pillow cases are too big for the large pillows? Which is weird, because both are made by Silk and Snow. The stitching has started to unravel. You'd think they would fit their own pillow cases to their brand of pillows, but I digress. In addition, the fitted sheet doesn't have any elastic anywhere except the corners, so it slides off your bed. Every. Single. Time. You. Sit. In. It. I ended up buying "sheet suspenders" from Amazon to ensure the fitted sheet stays on the bed, but they are damn annoying to put on and take off. I just feel like the sheets should actually stay on the mattress without having to purchase an extra accessory but again, I digress. The "all season" duvet is the hottest, most unbreathable blanket that I have ever used in my entire life. As in, last winter, I slept with my sliding glass door open in my bedroom ALL WINTER and I still sweat every single night while sleeping. I have never had a problem being a warm sleeper until I purchased a duvet from Silk and Snow. And linen is literally marketed for its breathability. Anyways, 10/10 I would avoid this brand unless you want a disappointing experience. I can't help but laugh when I see their current marketing materials as their campaign is marketing silk and snow as specifically breathable, and for hot sleepers. Personally, this is been the complete opposite of my experience.

    Flax Linen Fitted Sheet + Pillowcase SetFlax Linen Duvet CoverSilk & Snow PillowMattress ProtectorDown Alternative Duvet (All Season)

    Wholly Veggie

    Level 3
    Kayla MLevel 3 15 Reviews

    9 months ago

    Package design is great and flavour was pretty good but the texture was gross. The "cheese" filling was almost liquid-like. but really sticky feeling in the mouth. The breading had a great flavour but wish it was a bit more substantial. Had to be very gentle when picking up the sticks because the coating is thin and inside was so soupy, they kept breaking open and the filling is quite sticky. Ended up throwing away half the package because the texture started to get to me. Would try if you're vegan looking for a mozza stick alternative, but I wouldn't buy again.

    Feedback

    Cheese texture is not quite right, would be better if more of a halloumi-type texture, and wish the breading was a bit thicker.

    Mid-Day Squares

    Level 3
    Kayla MLevel 3 15 Reviews

    9 months ago

    I love these so much! Prefacing that I’m a super picky eater and have never met a protein bar that I enjoyed until I tried Midday Squares. The peanut butter and cookie dough are my FAVOURITE but every flavour is great. I didn’t find them chalky or too dry like most healthier alternative bars. They’re pretty expensive and I don’t love that they removed the option to buy packages of two, but do love that they’ve started selling 12 packs of assorted flavours. Definitely worth a try if you’re looking for a functional treat!

    Feedback

    Bring pack two packs!! A little pricey but they’re delicious as a treat.

    General Assembly Pizza

    Level 3
    Kayla MLevel 3 15 Reviews

    9 months ago

    I wanted to love these so much because they're a Toronto local brand, but honestly, the frozen pizzas are stupid expensive and disgusting. The crust was hard and crumbly and tasted like card board, and the pizza just did not cook up well. Would not buy again :(.

    GOODLES

    Level 3
    Kayla MLevel 3 15 Reviews

    9 months ago

    These are absolutely delicious! They taste just as good as kraft mac and cheese with none of the guilt. Love that they are high in protein! Four stars because I got an absolutely horrible stomach ache after eating the twist my parm flavour. I thought the twist my parm was fine, but nothing special. A bit light on flavour, probably wouldn't buy this flavour again due to the price point. Cheddy mac was absolutely fantastic! Pretty expensive but great for a treat!

    Feedback

    Boxed mac and cheese is the type of comfort snack you go for when you're feeling cheap and lazy. The price point for these is super high compared to regular boxed mac ($7 CAD a box, compared to 4 boxes for $5 of Kraft). Wish they were a little more affordable.

    Mojo Microdose

    Level 3
    Kayla MLevel 3 15 Reviews

    10 months ago

    I used to use mojo daily when I was struggling with anxiety and depression and they really made a huge difference in my day to day. My only complaints are that 1) I didn’t love the texture, I had to eat them in tiny bites very slowly, and 2) there is no option for a caffeine free gummy. I found the delayed release caffeine really affected my body (usually fine with regular coffee) and around 3pm every day I would get a little unfocused and uncomfortable because of the caffeine release. That is ultimately why I stopped taking them! But if you aren’t caffeine sensitive I absolutely would recommend these - I could notice a tangible difference on days when I would not take the gummy in my mood, focus etc.

    S’well

    Level 3
    Kayla MLevel 3 15 Reviews

    10 months ago

    I’ve had my swell for 5+ years and don’t really have any complaints about it. I LOVE that it keeps water ice cold even in the summer when it’s hot hot hot. The bottle can sit in the sun for hours, and when you go to take a drink your water will still be ice cold. I do find them expensive, but in saying that, mine has lasted 5+ years of near daily use with little wear and tear. Definitely a product you invest in - I would buy one to continuously use rather than buying a bunch of different designs. Great gift idea as well!

    BAGGU

    Level 3
    Kayla MLevel 3 15 Reviews

    10 months ago

    I love my baggu’s!!! They fold up so small and can be stored in almost any bag so no matter where you go you always have a reusable bag. Love the fabric - perfect for the beach or the park. Such cute designs and they make a fantastic gift! Price point feels a little high if your used to buying cheap canvas tote bags or getting free promotional bags from events/brands, but they really are worth the money! Great quality, holds up over time, and a sustainable option :)

    Stasher Bag

    Level 3
    Kayla MLevel 3 15 Reviews

    10 months ago

    I love all my slasher bags! They hold up so well - I think I’ve had my longest for four years now? Maybe a little more? And it’s still in perfect condition. I do find they feel a little pricey off the jump if you’re used to buying ziploc bags, but truly for how long they last and the amount you save on plastic bags they are 100% worth the swap!! They’re also really great to slowly add into your rotation - you don’t need to buy a ton of them all at once. I love that I can put food in them and boil it to cook things, store dry or wet snacks / sauces and I often use them when I need to marinate meat. 10/10 would recommend!!

    Allbirds

    Level 3
    Kayla MLevel 3 15 Reviews

    10 months ago

    Past employee

    I think I have 7 (or more) pairs of allbirds and I love them all. They are super cute, SO comfy (like soooo comfy it’s insane, and no break in period!) I love the brand mission and their commitment to sustainability! My ONLY qualm with the shoe is that the merino wool insoles make my feet smell so horribly we sometimes have to keep the shoes outside our condo unit. And I have never in my life experienced smelly feet - even as a dancer for 8 years growing up. They’re supposed to be moisture wicking, but I found they held all the sweat and need to be replaced far more frequently than I’m willing to replace an insole.