Reviews

    LastObject

    Level 2
    Jenny GLevel 2 11 Reviews

    a year ago

    I'm looking to try to cut down plastic use further in my life, but that can be intimidating to do all at once (beyond the obvious moves like reusable bags and bottles.). I decided to start with cleaning products and the bathroom, so LastObject seemed like a great place to start. I went for two of their little cotton bud replacements. They're well made, the colours are great, and they do the job. I really struggle with the price point though. I know that you only buy them once, but I don't quite understand how a single bud can be priced at £10.

    Papier

    Level 2
    Jenny GLevel 2 11 Reviews

    a year ago

    I'm a stationery fiend, so was very excited to try Papier for the first time. I really love what I've seen so far. They have a fantastic selection of designs, so there's something for all tastes. I've bought myself two notebooks so far, and received notecards as a present from a friend. The embossing on the notecards is top notch, and the paper stock is fantastic. The notebooks have beautiful smooth paper, fountain pens don't bleed through, and it's a really nice writing experience. I love that you can pick between different styles of paper (dotted for me please!). The only reason I'm giving them 4/5 is that their pricing feels a little steep, especially for invites / notecards. The notebooks seem fairly priced.

    Feedback

    If you order a book as a gift, it might be worth plumping for the extra gift packaging. It really elevated it in my eyes.

    Bloom & Wild

    Level 2
    Jenny GLevel 2 11 Reviews

    a year ago

    I recently received a bunch of Bloom & Wild flowers as a gift from a friend. I have to admit that I never quite understood the hype of "flowers through a letterbox." But the bunch I received were so beautiful thought through and put together. The blend of colours and textures are stunning, and the stems themselves are top quality. They had tulips in the mix where they left the bulbs attached so that I can replant them later, which I really loved as an extra touch. I won't be looking back to be honest. It's a bit ritzy to use for myself, but next time I'm buying flowers for a friend I'll go straight to them.

    Glossier

    Level 2
    Jenny GLevel 2 11 Reviews

    a year ago

    I received my first Glossier product as a gift from a family member. It was their cleanser, and it's now fair to say that I'm hooked. I wouldn't look elsewhere for a cleaner. Their dotcom balm is fantastic. The cherry flavour is like heading back to the 90s, and has a really nice subtle tint to it. The birthday cake flavour is frankly too delicious to be a lip balm, and I've bought it as many a present now.

    Feedback

    If they used more sustainable packaging they'd be getting a five stars from me. Product-wise they're pretty flawless.

    Hylo Athletics

    Level 2
    Jenny GLevel 2 11 Reviews

    a year ago

    I'll start with the good stuff. I own version one of Hylo Light. These trainers are insanely comfortable. They didn't need breaking in at all; went straight for a run in them, and also wore them for a tennis match straight away. They offer good support despite being lightweight. Their eco creds are fantastic, and I'm on a mission to find the best eco trainers out there at the moment. I particularly like their end of life trainer recycling scheme, as it shows that they're thinking through the whole journey rather than just the product itself. Sadly, they just haven't stood the test of time. I've got a hole in the fabric upper in the same place on either foot. Also one of the insoles has pretty much separated inside the shoe. I've been wearing them for sport for around 6 months, so it's not terrible... but I was really hoping that they'd last longer, as it obviously impacts their eco creds.

    Feedback

    Definitely worth a look, and they stand up to other better known alternatives on the market. I'd be tempted to plump for V2 Hylo Lights, as they may have fixed some of the problems with V1.

    The Stem

    Level 2
    Jenny GLevel 2 11 Reviews

    a year ago

    Absolutely love this company, it was a gem of a find. I ordered Stem vouchers for my team members for a congratulations gift on reaching a milestone in my startup. The lineup of plants they have is brilliant, and reasonably priced compared to others in the market. The quality of products that arrived are amazing - they were obviously really well cared for in the build up to being sold. Finally the sustainable delivery was the icing on the cake - a friendly delivery driver on a pedal bike. I really like what this company stands for, and as a customer it seems like they're executing well against their green mission.

    Starface

    Level 2
    Jenny GLevel 2 11 Reviews

    a year ago

    I wanted these to be amazing so badly. The packaging is genuinely wonderful. Heavy-weight, quality, and super cute. I've bought these for presents for people just because of the packaging. The product itself... I can't vouch for its effectiveness. If you're midway through the life-span of a horrible spot, it's worth a shot to see whether it makes a difference overnight. I find the worse the spot, the better the results. It's not great at clearing them up at their early stages.

    Feedback

    Keep your eyes peeled for limited edition designs too, which are all v cute. I regret missing out on the Sesame Street ones!

    smol

    Level 2
    Jenny GLevel 2 11 Reviews

    a year ago

    Great products all around! They lured me in with their surface sprays, because it was frankly criminal that I was throwing all of that plastic in the recycling once a month. Since then I've made the move across to their laundry tablets and their dishwasher tablets. All of the products I've tried are great quality, and as far as I can tell deliver the same results as the leading brands in these industries.

    Feedback

    Be mindful when you're setting up your subscriptions - it's easy to overestimate the amounts you use! I kept an eye on it in the first three months, and I've found the cadence that's right for me now. It's worth trying to get right because if you leave the surface spray tablets sitting around for too long they can expand and crumble.

    Good Candles

    Level 2
    Jenny GLevel 2 11 Reviews

    a year ago

    PAAAAT! First up, if you're not following this brand on Instagram you really should. The founder is obsessed by Eastenders and very random deep-cuts of 90s UK television... it never fails to bring a smile to my face. The products themselves are fantastic. This is my first "expensive candle" (aka not from my favourite swedish retailer). I find that the candles' scent travels reeeeally well, which makes it far more effective than the cheaper candles I own that I have now sidelined. The packaging is great fun, it adds a pop of colour to my living room, and I've given a couple as gifts to very happy recipients.

    Feedback

    I'm not going to lie, it's a fair chunk to spend on a candle. It's all produced with great quality ingredients, and I hadn't appreciated until this point how much of a difference that makes to a candle's ability to throw scent.

    Dyson

    Level 2
    Jenny GLevel 2 11 Reviews

    a year ago

    I own a Dyson v10 vacuum cleaner, and one of the air purifier fans. I'll start with the air purifier. I have pretty bad allergies, so have tested a lot of air purifiers over the years! The Dyson one is fantastic as a purifier, but to be honest the fan leaves a lot to be desired. I have one of the earlier models, so if you're in the market it's worth considering whether you're in it for the fan or the purifier. If you're in it for the fan alone, it's not good value. The customer care with Dyson was fantastic. My first purifier had a fault, and they arranged a collection and a new model to be sent with no questions asked. My only quibble now with it is that it has a consistent small whirring noise, even if off, but once again, this has probably been solved with the later models. Now for the vacuum cleaner. Honestly, it is life changing. After doing *all* of the research, I plumped for a v10 last year. It demolishes dust, and it's frankly terrifying to see how much comes out of a carpet that I hoovered just a couple of days beforehand. Being cordless means that I'm using it far more, and I actually weirdly enjoy hoovering now. Maybe it's Dyson, maybe it's middle age. Either way I'm here for it.

    Feedback

    If you're looking at the fans, think about aesthetics vs functionality and what matters to you. It's one of the most beautiful fans on the market, but not necessarily one of the most effective for the price, so there's a definite trade off there. For the vacuum cleaners, I very rarely say this about an expensive product, but I've got zero regrets. They still stock some of the older models, so it's worth thinking about how many bells and whistles you need.