Reviews

    Simply Gum

    Level 8
    Michelle BLevel 8 70 Reviews

    24 days ago

    Interesting product in the world of clean labeling. I always struggle with products that opt for sugar in their formulations and am not bought into the idea that alternative sweeteners are inferior to sugar. Do I want to chew on something with sugar that causes cavities or chew a xylitol gum that has been shown to fight cavities? For me, the answer is clear. So if I can pretend that I buy into the natural gum concept, I will say that I really liked the grapefruit flavor and the packaging. The flavor doesn’t last long and stringy bits of the gum can get stuck in my molars. Overall, if I bought into the proposition, these are fairly good. They have done a great job at formulating with these ingredients. The only problem? I don’t buy into eating sugar gum.

    Cleanse, Grapefruit

    Clutch

    Level 8
    Michelle BLevel 8 70 Reviews

    2 months ago

    Does it come in clutch? Somewhat. I was gifted a clutch powerbank at a company event, which I consider to be a rare, useful corporate swag item. It’s very thin and sleek. It comes with the built-in iPhone cable. My issue is that it can only charge my phone about 50%, which definitely can be a lifesaver, but requires you to constantly remember to charge the clutch powerbank. I prefer my other powerbanks that carry three or four charges and can be used with a variety of devices (obviously using my own cables.) For the retail price point, I would not buy this powerbank.

    Calgee

    Level 8
    Michelle BLevel 8 70 Reviews

    3 months ago

    I am really fascinated by algae so I ordered some Calgee fish oil supplements. I give these 5 stars ultimately because they are carbon negative and I want to support the scale-up of the algae industry as part of our global fight against climate change. The pros: - Carbon Negative: Can we save the world by taking algae omega-3 supplements? Obviously not. Most fish oil is not even consumed directly by humans, but through farmed salmon feed. So consuming these tablets is a very small step, but nevertheless, a step in the right direction. I’m also optimistic that as demand for algae grows, so too will the science to improve the cost and applicability. - Burpless: Absolutely no fishy taste in my mouth after a month of consumption - Small soft gels: Makes it easy to take - Great customer service: Something was missing from my order and the customer service team found a great solution for me, quickly The cons: - Low DHA/EPA content: Arguably, the amount in two of these soft gels is sort of the lower limit of what we should consume daily. This product will get you what you need, but nothing more. Price point: Given the point above, it’s expensive. Ultimately, I’ll buy these again because I love the idea of these amazing organisms eating CO2 and converting it into our bodies fuel.

    Omega-3

    Taika

    Level 8
    Michelle BLevel 8 70 Reviews

    4 months ago

    Received a free product from Taika

    The packaging is really beautiful on these. That being said, I really didn’t care for these much. The macadamia product has some separation and shelf stability issues. It wasn’t one consistency throughout. Both products were a bit chalky and had this distinct aftertaste that I can’t quite put my finger on (bitter? astringent?) I think they have some work to do on taste and emulsion stability.

    Macadamia latteOat Milk Latte

    United Sodas of America

    Level 8
    Michelle BLevel 8 70 Reviews

    4 months ago

    Received a free product from United Sodas of America

    I was curious about these so I tried them, but they just weren’t for me. I don’t drink pop/soda/soda pop or whatever you call it where you are from. I probably consume one whole can of Diet Coke over a year of small sips of my partner’s drinks when I need to cleanse my palate. So am I the right person to test these? Honestly, no. They were artificial tasting and sweet. They really didn’t do much for me. The one I didn’t take a picture of, strawberry basil, was refreshing. Overall, thanks, but I’ll stick to plain sparkling water.

    Royo

    Level 8
    Michelle BLevel 8 70 Reviews

    4 months ago

    I am really impressed with the nutrition facts on these. At just 70 calories a bagel, 9g of protein and 32 grams of fiber, these bagels are much healthier than any mainstream bagel. On the taste side, it doesn’t quite scratch the “I want a New York bagel with cream cheese” itch. The bagels are a bit dry and don’t have the same texture. On their own - I would skip them, but if you want a breakfast sandwich with a great alternative to a normal bagel, these are for you.

    Secret Aardvark Trading Co

    Level 8
    Michelle BLevel 8 70 Reviews

    5 months ago

    After seeing the glowing reviews, I had to try Secret Ardvark’s habanero hot sauce. I am a chilihead and have 5 hot sauces on the go at any given time. I enjoy eating habaneros raw with with cheese and find raw habaneros to be naturally flavorful. I write all this to caveat this review as I am biased towards certain flavors. I found Secret Ardvark’s product to taste smoky and to mask the habanero flavor. The smoky flavor I assume comes from the fire roasted tomatoes (in the first ingredient.) Habaneros are only the sixth ingredient on the list so if you are expecting a habanero hot sauce, change your expectations. I’ve resorted to hiding it in dishes while cooking rather than using it as a sauce/dip. Others love the flavor, but I’ll pass on this smoky mildly spicy tomato sauce!

    Habanero hot sauce

    Fitlifefoods

    Level 8
    Michelle BLevel 8 70 Reviews

    5 months ago

    I live in the Tampa Bay Area and there is a Fitlifefoods store near one of the fitness studios I frequent. On busy weeks, I’ll go in and grab a couple lunches for the week to mix up my routine. I love having some healthy versions of savory foods (e.g. sloppy joes, quesadillas, bbq and mac and cheese) to mix up my typical salad every day for lunch routine. The food tastes good - is it life changing flavor? Of course not, they really cut back on simple carbohydrates and fats so it’s not going to be the best thing you’ve ever tasted. However, I would definitely say the meals are enjoyable. The reasons I don’t buy from them more are 1) the price point and 2) the variety of meals without rice are really limited (for some reason, I just don’t like rice.) Overall, happy to have the option and glad I don’t have to subscribe, but can just hop in on occasion!

    Aubi & Ramsa

    Level 8
    Michelle BLevel 8 70 Reviews

    6 months ago

    Fun concept in New York City with shipping in some states. I tried their espresso martini and it was a great mix of the martini flavor and ice cream mouthfeel. Would recommend if you are in the area, but couldn’t see myself buying enough for a shipment.

    Vacation

    Level 8
    Michelle BLevel 8 70 Reviews

    7 months ago

    Purchased through a Thingtesting offer

    Just like all the other reviewers, I think Vacation is fun, smells good and does what it is supposed to. I knocked off a star as before I had used half of the whip product, the air pressure died and the product just kind of oozes out at this point. This could just be the nature of the packaging, but does change the experience. I’ll be back to this brand to try other products!